Alleged Schematic Shows iPhone 6 Coming with 1GB of RAM [Updated]

Discussion in 'MacRumors.com News Discussion' started by MacRumors, Aug 18, 2014.

  1. macrumors bot

    MacRumors

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    #1
    [​IMG]


    Apple's forthcoming iPhone 6 may sport 1 GB of RAM, according to a leaked schematic shared by Chinese Apple repair firm GeekBar (Google Translate, via G for Games). The chart is said to come from an internal supply chain source, however it is unknown if the schematic is intended for the 4.7-inch or 5.5-inch iPhone 6.
    [​IMG]
    If the chart is indeed legitimate, the iPhone 6 would join the iPhone 5, iPhone 5s, and iPhone 5c in sporting 1 GB of RAM. That amount of RAM would also be below competitors such as the Samsung Galaxy S5 and HTC One M8, which both feature 2 GB of RAM. It is important to note that Apple has never emphasized the amount of RAM in the iPhone, instead choosing to focus on optimizing the user experience through tight software and hardware integration.

    Apple is expected to announce the iPhone 6 at an event on September 9, with a launch for the 4.7-inch version likely coming around a week later. It is possible that the 5.5-inch version may also be launched at the same time, however reported production issues with the larger device may cause Apple to delay its launch until later this year or early next year. Both models of the iPhone 6 are expected to feature a thinner, curved design and come with a faster A8 chip, a new camera with stabilization, and iOS 8.

    Update 7:19 AM: As noted in our forums, the schematic's references DDR and NAND suggests that it more likely refers to some aspect of the device's flash memory rather than DRAM included within the A8 chip.

    Article Link: Alleged Schematic Shows iPhone 6 Coming with 1GB of RAM [Updated]
     
  2. Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    Can't say that I'm surprised, though disappointed.

    What good is a 64 bit processor and OS when the ram is so limited
     
  3. dannys1, Aug 18, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 18, 2014

    macrumors 6502a

    dannys1

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Irrelevant but cue people going crazy over it.
     
  4. macrumors 68020

    SMIDG3T

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Location:
    England
    #4
    I thought it was about time we moved up to 2GB of RAM. Let's trust Apple on this if it's true.
     
  5. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    #5
    I agree on that software/hardware is great and works great. But more ram is what we need as well. Just try to hold open some safari tabs....or multiple apps....they will just close.
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    DavidBlack

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Location:
    Somewhere In Apple's HQ ;)
    #6
    I was hoping for at least 2GB but, iOS 8 should have better software optimizations. Because A7 devices with iOS 7 safari kept crashing.
     
  7. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #7
    As Gruber said, adding more RAM to iPhones now would help when they decide to release a more RAM intensive OS in future years. Wish they would.
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    0xyMoron

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012
    Location:
    California
    #8
    This is bad for jailbreakers, casual users shouldn't care, Apple targets those people not jailbreakers.
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    #9
    Well this should keep MacRumors complaining for a few days. Overall though I could care less, as long as the user experience remains smooth like it always has been.
     
  10. macrumors 603

    ArtOfWarfare

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    #10
    When you can't have more than one app running at full speed, I see little need for more than 1 GB.

    Just curious: can the iPhone use virtual memory? (With or without jail breaking?)
     
  11. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    #11
    3 years of the same RAM and with a price increase, ouch. Keep the sharp objects away from MacRumors.
     
  12. macrumors 6502

    Broph

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #12
    I'm happy as long as the iPad gets a RAM upgrade. Seriously, can't look at different tabs without it reloading.
     
  13. macrumors regular

    evansls

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Location:
    Leesburg, VA
    #13
    Don't worry. There's always iPhone 6S next year!
     
  14. Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #14
    iOS comes from OS X, so I'd say yes, iOS can and does use virtual memory
     
  15. macrumors member

    iHack13

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Location:
    city of octoberfest
    #15
    Great. I own an iPad Air and the RAM is just insufficient.
    Apps keep reloading while multitasking . I often lose progress and need to retype stuff, like for instance I was searching tyres on ebay and set all the parameters for my car .
    I switched to safari to look up something. Switched back to ebay and it relaunched the ebay app and I had to do all the search again.

    That's just two (!) apps ....

    But I guess its ok for the iSheep. Clearly I am using the device wrong. And 1 GB of RAM is more than enough.
    But if apple releases an iphone 6s with 2 GB RAM. Then we will praise them to heaven... The competition will have at least 3GB RAM by the time, but you know... 2GB will be more than enough right? ....
     
  16. macrumors 68040

    mavis

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #16
    This.

    I'm so sick of tabs reloading when I only have two or three open ...
     
  17. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    #17
    2GB would be nice!
     
  18. macrumors 6502a

    Sven11

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    #18
    Many people hoped for 2GB of RAM, but many still expected only 1GB of RAM. So 1.5GB seemed realistic. That's disappointing.
     
  19. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    #19
    Price increase for 1gb ram and a small battery again.. Amazing so far.
     
  20. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    #20
    More RAM = more cached apps

    Safari can get a good use of this increase, as well as Mail.

    If Apple dont increase the RAM, ill be sad.
     
  21. macrumors 68000

    GroundLoop

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2003
    #21
    If true, I will have to take a wait and see attitude with the next iPhone. May need to wait it out for the iPhone 6LS as my Lumia Icon still does everything that I need.

    GL
     
  22. macrumors G3

    roadbloc

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #22
    1GB? Welcome to 2009... no wonder browsing and multitasking on an iPhone is horrible.
     
  23. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    #23
    Safari shouldn't crash if they just use a proper pagefile emulating ram from the ssd (flash memory or whatever type), improving the ssd's transfer rate should be enough
     
  24. macrumors member

    iHack13

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Location:
    city of octoberfest
    #24
    But hey! It's going to be thinner !!! ......
     
  25. macrumors 6502a

    DavidBlack

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Location:
    Somewhere In Apple's HQ ;)
    #25
    Oh really? Does it have a swapfile like OS X?
     

Share This Page