alloting Memory

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by bentoon, Nov 2, 2003.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Location:
    NYC
    #1
    in OS9 you could change the memory that any individual program was limited to using or having at it's disposal.
    I haven't seen this in X at all and I'm wondering where it's gone or if it's obsolete
    Thanks,
     
  2. macrumors 68020

    revenuee

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Location:
    A place where i am supreme emporer
    #2
    Re: alloting Memory

    well not the same way it is done in OS 9

    certain apps, like photoshop and FCP let you do it from within the software.

    other just take it as they need it

    i believe there is a way to do it from the terminal, as the case is in other *nix flavors... but not to sure how to go about it
     
  3. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Location:
    NYC
  4. macrumors 65816

    G5orbust

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    #4
    Well, one of the key features of OSX was smart memory management.

    The OS changes the program's memory allotment depending on the size of the app and its level of activity.
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    manitoubalck

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #5
    OS 9's manua allotment was a hassel to say the least. I have never incounted a memory alloting program in Windows and don't really see the need. A program just uses what it neeeds and if it needs a little more it can access it without restriction.
     
  6. macrumors 68020

    revenuee

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Location:
    A place where i am supreme emporer
    #6
    really?, i didn't mind, felt like i had more control that way, and i like how i could check how much ram what program was using...

    i don't like the way process viewer... the OS 9 way seemed cleaner and more organized
     

Share This Page