Alphabetizing in word

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by wmmk, Sep 5, 2006.

  1. wmmk macrumors 68020

    wmmk

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    The Library.
    #1
    Hey-
    How would one go about alphabetizing a list of words in M$ word? thanks.
     
  2. Nuc macrumors 6502a

    Nuc

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Location:
    TN
    #2
    I don't think it's possible in word. I would import the file into excel then alphabetize (by using sort) it then save it (may have to save as a text file). Then open it back into word.

    Nuc
     
  3. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #3
    If it were me, I'd save the words as a text file (or copy it into TextEdit and save it from there), then go into Terminal and type
    Code:
    sort xxx.txt > xxx.1.txt
    where xxx.txt is the name of the original file, and xxx.1.txt (or any other name) is a sorted version of it.

    Then open that second file, and it'll all be sorted.

    How to do it in Word? Dunno.
     
  4. iSaint macrumors 603

    iSaint

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    South Mississippi y'all, near the water!
    #4
    It's a bullet feature. You can choose the type of bulleting you want to use on the Bullets and Numbering toolbar.

    EDIT: DOH! I was thinking creating a list.

    I've sorted tables by column that were in Word. Table>Sort

    You can hide Gridlines under the same toollbar heading so you won't see them.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. wmmk thread starter macrumors 68020

    wmmk

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    The Library.
    #5
    for some reason the terminal method, suggested by jsw, said i didn't have access to the file. Nuc and iSaint, your ideas were great, but I was feeling too lazy to make a table or excel workbook, so i found http://flap.tv/alphabetize.php. really quite handy! thanks to all for the suggestions.
     
  6. skybolt macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Location:
    Nashville, TN, USA
    #6
    From within Word, just select the list of words you want to alphabetize and then Table>sort> and choose by paragraph. Easy -- though like most MS products, not intuitive! Who would think to go to "table" when you are not working in a table???
     
  7. iSaint macrumors 603

    iSaint

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    South Mississippi y'all, near the water!
    #7
    Ok smarty pants, you're right. No need to create a table to sort. :D Just kidding on the sp comment.












    never knew that one, dang youngster showoffs!
     

Share This Page