Alright... I need help. Dating issues, meeting people, etc.

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by Merc248, Sep 19, 2006.

1. Merc248 macrumors newbie

Merc248

I'm a college student here in Seattle (Seattle University for those who are wondering.) I major in math and computer science, so already my dork factor shoots way up there.

I find that a lot of people in my school are rich and pampered for the most part; I talk to a lot of people, yet I get turned off once they start talking about their parents income, their new car, etc. The few people that I've met that are down to earth have rejected me fairly hard (either that or they're already taken.) Perhaps I'm somewhat closed minded about this whole thing, but eh, I don't know.

I also have somewhat of a fear of approaching women, though I have been whittling that down quite nicely as of late (I'm still quite timid around them however.)

Anyway, considering that I'm still under 21, what would be good places to meet other people around my age outside of my school? Are there any other pieces of advice that can be given on dating or even trying to find people to date?

2. Chundles macrumors G4

Chundles

1. Get off the computer.
    2. Open your mind.
    3. Go to the pub.
    4. Be happy and interested in others, it'll make you more interesting to them.

3. Merc248 thread starter macrumors newbie

Merc248

Can't do (3), I'm underage :p

(4) is definitely good advice though...

4. dclocke macrumors member

Step 1: Don't look on web sites like macrumors.com for dating advice

5. Allotriophagy macrumors 6502a

BELAY THAT ORDER!

Clearly, what he needs is a new computer.

6. pknz macrumors 68020

pknz

Hahaha, class.:p

7. Merc248 thread starter macrumors newbie

Merc248

Argh, back to the PC forums for dating advice then I guess :x

8. Chundles macrumors G4

Chundles

Oops, keep forgetting it's 21 over there.