Alt/apple-tabbing

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by scan, Feb 19, 2006.

  1. scan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    #1
    how do you do it for 1 application? say safari when i have several safari windows opened and i want to cycle through them without clicking on the window menu
     
  2. calebjohnston macrumors 68000

    calebjohnston

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    #2
    use expose to do this. I have all the expose options set for hot corners, but they're set as buttons by default. go to system prefs/dashboard & expose. It will tell you what buttons do what. (You want "All application windows - press f10") just click one safari window and then press f10 and all of them will line up for you. I recommend setting it to hot corner top-left or something, then it's really fast to do this.
     
  3. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
  4. scan thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    #4

    yes that does what i'm looking for but i'm kind of disappointed. my friends were saying how it can look like "a cube rotating" (???)
     
  5. stridey macrumors 65816

    stridey

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Location:
    Massachusetts, Connecticut
    #5
    That's fast-user switching. (I think)
     
  6. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #6
    It is fast user switching.
     
  7. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #7
    If you want eye candy, then, while you're playing around, try Exposé hot corners, too. Very tight. :) Assign one of them to all the windows of the current application.
     
  8. scan thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    #8
    what is that? and hot corner swtichinhg??? i'm still quite new to mac
     
  9. stridey macrumors 65816

    stridey

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Location:
    Massachusetts, Connecticut
    #10
    Fast User Switching is a feature where you can move between two different users on the computer without logging the first one out. If you're the only user on your Mac, it's probably not that interesting to you.

    Exposé is a really cool thing. Can't be arsed to explain it, but I'll explain how to set up the hot corners and you can see how it works for yourself. Go to System Preferences->Expose and Choose "All Windows" "Application Windows" or "Desktop" for various screen corners. Now put the mouse in that corner. See? :D

    Edit: Or grapes911 could provide helpful links, and beat me to the chase... :p
     
  10. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #11
    No, it means you switch from one account to another while keeping the other account running in the background, instead of logging out. I'm pretty sure Windows has this under another name.

    On Macs, when you do it, there is a cube effect, with which the previous account rotates off screen and the new one rotates on.

    You can use a similar effect to transition between slides in PowerPoint and (probably) Keynote. :)
     
  11. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #12
    System Preferences > Dashboard & Exposé

    I've set my lower corners to control my main Exposé functions.

    It's called Fast User Switching in Windows XP too. Dun dun dun...
     
  12. wasimyaqoob macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Location:
    London, England.
    #13
    Use Expose, so much easier.

    Press FN+F10 for the current app
    Press FN+F9 for all windows.
     
  13. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #14
    the only other thing i could think of that could cause the Cube effect besides fast user switching would be one of the Virtual Desktop programs.
     
  14. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #15
    I used to use one of them and it did indeed offer this transition. It had a bevy of other cool ones too. :) Including the swirl effect you get when you reload a widget. :) You could even randomize them. It's this one:

    http://desktopmanager.berlios.de/

    Although at the time Tiger was released, it was not compatible, and I stopped using it. Even then, I went back and forth with whether or not I preferred this to Exposé and a single screen.
     
  15. Tel macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Location:
    England
    #16
    If you're not in a hurry to select a new window, hold down shift while using Expose. That really bugs my Windows using friends when I do that :D

    cmd+` is more convenient than Expose if you're only switching between a couple of windows in any given application.
     

Share This Page