[alt]+[tab]

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by RamSlack, Feb 18, 2007.

  1. RamSlack macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Location:
    NW Washington
    #1
    Who had the [ALT]+[TAB] function first, MAC or PC?

    I used to use it a lot when I had PCs but with MAC, I find myself using the Expose function instead. Its a lot easier. I started wondering why MAC even had the [ALT]+[TAB] function as a feature. Was it part of the old MAC OS and Windows copied it? Did MAC copy it from Windows? I remember using it with Windows even with Windows 95 (I think).
     
  2. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #2
    It started with Windows 3.1 and wasn't incorporated into the Mac platform until OS X, although there were third-party apps that did the equivalent in classic Mac OS's.
     
  3. Scarlet Fever macrumors 68040

    Scarlet Fever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Location:
    Bookshop!
    #3
    MS has had alt tab for a while, but i love the way Apple's version works; Cmd+Tab for apps, Cmd+` for windows in the app selected (ie web browser windows). I find it a lot more functional than the Windows equivalent
     
  4. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #4
    I believe it was added in Mac OS 8.5 or perhaps, 9.0 after quite a while being part of Windows. You could also drag from the Task Manager menu in the menu bar to show the active tasks in a small window of icons.
     
  5. yg17 macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #5

    Holy crap, I had no idea the Cmd + ` thing existed :eek:

    Although with 3 of my mouse's buttons linked to expose, I can switch windows quicker that way than I can with the keyboard shortcut :D
     
  6. mike dunx macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Location:
    Central FL
    #6
    i like it better how in windows it's alt + tab for apps, and then ctrl + tab for tabs. it's much easier than reaching all the way up to the ` button

    is there any way to change it so you can do that in osx?
     
  7. mgargan1 macrumors 65816

    mgargan1

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Location:
    Reston, VA
    #7
    Yea, I had no idea either. Thanks for the tip
     
  8. Kernow macrumors 65816

    Kernow

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Location:
    Kingston-Upon-Thames
    #8
    Another feature of the OSX implementation that I really like over the MS version is being able to use the mouse while Cmd+Tabbing - if you press Cmd-Tab once, you can then click directly on the app you want to switch to, rather than cycling all the way through them.
     
  9. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #9
    Might as well use the dock then...
     
  10. Butters macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    You are kidding?

    the ` button is directly above cmd there's no reaching involved
     
  11. Kernow macrumors 65816

    Kernow

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Location:
    Kingston-Upon-Thames
    #11
    Not really - cmd-tab shows open apps only, whereas the dock also shows inactive ones. Also, I keep the dock hidden and have cmd-tab mapped to one of my mouse buttons, so I can press that button and then click on the app I want.
     
  12. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #12
    Since that key is above the <Tab> key on U.S. keyboards, it's more of a reach, but the placement makes sense since it's close, just like with cut, copy, and paste.
     
  13. twoodcc macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #13

    well the cmd + ` isn't doing anything for me.....

    edit, nevermind, i got it :)
     
  14. Sesshi macrumors G3

    Sesshi

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Location:
    One Nation Under Gordon
    #14
    I find the opposite to be the case, but there you go.

    (Not Vista by the way - just a Microsoft-supplied extension)
     

    Attached Files:

  15. ®îçhå®? macrumors 68000

    ®îçhå®?

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    #15
    I am surprised that so many people did not know about the Cmd ` combination. That saves me so much time instead of having to move all open windows to where i can see them or using exposé. The only function is use of exposé is to show the desktop so i can get to my docktop window.
     
  16. RamSlack thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Location:
    NW Washington
    #16
    I had no idea about these. This is just GREAT!

    Are there any other keyboard shortcuts like this that aren't published?
     
  17. Butters macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #17
    Didn't realize that key was different on US boards sorry
     
  18. Scarlet Fever macrumors 68040

    Scarlet Fever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Location:
    Bookshop!
    #18
    there are a lot of key combos a lot of people don't know, apparently.

    One time, my cousin was playing around with the mouse, trying to irritate me. I just continued my work using keyboard shortcuts. He then proceeded to say "woah" and call me a freak :D
     

Share This Page