Altivec optimized applications

Discussion in 'Hardware Rumors' started by gopher, Aug 14, 2002.

  1. gopher macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2002
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    #1
  2. ftaok macrumors 601

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #2
    What about iPhoto???

    I thought iPhoto was Altivec enhanced. I swear that Jobs said it at MWSF.
     
  3. drastik macrumors 6502a

    drastik

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Location:
    Nashvegas
    #3
    I'm pretty sure I heard that too, maybe its supposed to be a given.
     
  4. mischief macrumors 68030

    mischief

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2001
    Location:
    Santa Cruz Ca
    #4
    For the record:

    These thing are not "Altivec" enhanced, they're " Velocity Engine" enhanced.

    Before you go getting all obnoxious about it: No, they're no the same thing.

    Velocity Engine is a breed of technology that's a part of the PPC roadmap and the A/I/M partnership so all this talk about "IBM chips needing new code cuz there's no Altivec" is crap. The "Power4 Lite" or whatever IBM is going to call it has a Velocity Engine, they're just not using the word "Altivec". Go try to find Altivec as a requirement on the Apple site. You won't find it. The term Velocity Engine is used instead.
     
  5. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #5
    Well, AltiVec is a Motorola trademark and Velocity Engine is an Apple trademark.

    They both still apply to the VMX multimedia/DSP instructions and processing unit specifications. :)

    gopher:

    That list was dual processor-aware applications, not AltiVec-aware applcations.
     
  6. firewire2001 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #6
    the list on apple site is in fact for programs that take advantage of dual processors...

    Also, every program can benefit from the "Velocity Engine" -- however, certain applications take advantage of it either by the way in which the program runs or if the program is specially optimized...

    -f
     
  7. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #7
    Interesting. I can only imagine that unaware applications can take advantage by using portions of the operating system already using AltiVec.

    Otherwise, you have to specifically have to code for AltiVec using CodeWarrior 6 or set the AltiVec flag on CW7 or 8, remembering to create another non-AltiVec version.

    You can use the vDSP library with Project Builder. I believe you use the -altivec flag to generate code for it, but I would imagine there is a checkbox to do the same thing within PB projects.
     

Share This Page