Aluminium MacBook Pro (2006 - 2008) HD Help

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by ngraysva, Nov 25, 2012.

  1. macrumors newbie

    ngraysva

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Location:
    mars
    #1
    im having a bit of trouble with my aluminum non-unibody 15'' laptop... the hard drive seems to be corrupt every time i verify disk and go into disk utility.. cant seem to erase it and fix it... was going to just throw a new HD in it.. anyone know what model i need? and what the highest GB is that i can put in?

    [​IMG]

    thanks for the help!!
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    Ariii

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Location:
    Chicago
    #2
    You don't need any specific model. You can install any 2.5" SATA hard drive or SSD. You can still use hard drives over the maximum amount of storage of the MacBook Pro, it just won't address all of the space.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    ngraysva

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Location:
    mars
    #3
    Awesome. I will be heading to best buy tomorrow to grab a new drive then. Thanks
     
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    ngraysva

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Location:
    mars
    #4
    Man this sucks. I upgraded the memory to this to 4gb, and also put a brand new 500gb hd in my lappy. And it still gets to beginning blue screen and freezes. Takes forever to get past it. Think this could be the motherboard ? What other options do I have besides getting a new one lol. ImageUploadedByTapatalk1354059441.218827.jpg
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    #5
    It could be two things, either one you didnt ground your self when you touched the inside of your computer or two if you have the GT 8600m its beginning to fail the same thing with ATI X1600.
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    #6
    "Beginning blue screen"? Aren't all Apple's boot screens Gray or Black? Heck even kernel panics are gray/black.
     
  7. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013

Share This Page