Am I a total moron...?

Discussion in 'Site and Forum Feedback' started by idea_hamster, Mar 16, 2006.

  1. idea_hamster macrumors 65816

    idea_hamster

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Location:
    NYC, or thereabouts
    #1
    I just tried to type up a post using the list function. WTF? When you press OK, it inserts the text, but the text is selected.

    This way, when you type the next bullet point and enter it, it replaces the previous one! To add insult to injury, the instructions say to leave a blank box and press OK to finish the list -- ensuring that you don't even get to save your last bullet point! (Naturally, I didn't notice this pernicious process until it was too late!)

    I have a hard time entertaining the idea that I'm somehow misusing the tool -- after all, the intended steps seem to be (1) click, (2) type and (3) click.

    If this is how it "works," I really don't see the point!
     
  2. Doctor Q Administrator

    Doctor Q

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #2
    The answer is that vBulletin is the "moron", not you. The feature does not work as intended and is essentially useless.

    Luckily, you can make a list like
    • this
    • this
    • this
    manually by typing [list][*]this[*]this[*]this[/list].

    Inserting linebreaks is fine too.

    You can make a list like
    1. this
    2. this
    3. this
    by typing [list=1][*]this[*]this[*]this[/list].
     
  3. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #3
    And variants:

    list=i

    • this
    • this
    • this

    list=a

    • this
    • this
    • this

    :)
     
  4. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #4
    Oooh boy, you have no idea how badly this thread title tempted me... :D
     
  5. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #5
    I think they developed a lot of the functions for the way people like I work.

    I type everything in as plain text and after it's all finished, I format it. I never tried to use any of the functions interactively, other than the new inline editing and that's only partly interactive.

    Still, things work when you don't expect too much. :)
     
  6. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #6
    I'm with ya.

    Nothing like leaving the door wide open! :D
     
  7. Counterfit macrumors G3

    Counterfit

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    sitting on your shoulder
    #7
    I tried using this last week, and got the same problem. *prods vB developers with a red hot branding iron*
     
  8. calebjohnston macrumors 68000

    calebjohnston

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    #8
    I was about to come in, and just say 'yes' too. :|

    Such nice people.
     
  9. dernhelm macrumors 68000

    dernhelm

    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Location:
    middle earth
    #9
    I discovered a while ago that entering my list on separate lines:

    line 1
    line 2
    line 3

    Highlighting them and pressing the "1-2-3" list button works famously and is a lot less typing!

    1. line 1
    2. line 2
    3. line 3
     
  10. Kernow macrumors 65816

    Kernow

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Location:
    Kingston-Upon-Thames
    #10
    Just hit 'New Posts' and I got two to choose from...:D

    (No offence meant to either poster - I just liked the way they sat on the screen.)
     

    Attached Files:

  11. wwooden macrumors 68000

    wwooden

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    #11
    I love those kinds of finds. My favorite is in the marketplace when you have something like "Looking for a 12" PB" and right below it "FS: 12" Powerbook". I just want to combine the two threads.
     
  12. idea_hamster thread starter macrumors 65816

    idea_hamster

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Location:
    NYC, or thereabouts
    #12
    Thanks for the re-assurance about the state of VB's list mechanism. I'm glad to know that
    1. I wasn't imagining things and
    2. there are some pretty good work-arounds.

    As for the secondary topic that seems to have cropped up, I actually have to say that I was genuinely pleased that things went the way they did. To be honest, I thought twice about my thread title, but opted for this one because it would get a few more people to check the thread even thought it was way down at the bottom of the page -- oh, and because it was, in fact, what went though my head! :)
     
  13. Doctor Q Administrator

    Doctor Q

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #13
    That doesn't work for me. Instead, it wipes out the text. I'm in Safari, btw.
     
  14. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #14
    1. Line 1
    2. Line 2
    3. Line 3

    Works fine in Firefox. Apparently Safari hasn't fixed all the issues with vBulletin type text editors... :)
     

Share This Page