Am I just not getting Mission Control?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by Tydog07, Jul 28, 2011.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Mi
    #1
    I recently upgraded to Lion and I thought the purpose of Mission Control was to seamlessly swipe between all your open apps. When I use the trackpad and I have more than one app open, and I swipe 4 fingers up, I get the Mission Control screen, but it only shows my desktop and dashboard. If I use 3 fingers to swipe either way, it only goes between safari (desktop) and dashboard.

    For example right now I have safari and bit torrent open, if I swipe either way, I only get dashboard. How do I set it up so that I can scroll through all my open apps/windows? Am I just not getting the purpose of this feature?
     
  2. macrumors demi-god

    xraydoc

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #2
    In your case, with apps open all on the same desktop (a.k.a. a Spaces space in 10.6-speak), Mission Control is no different than Exposé. If you want to swipe left/right to move from app to app you need to open each app on a separate desktop (or open capable apps to full-screen mode).
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Mi
    #3
    That sounds interesting, how do I open a new desktop?
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Mrguidogenio

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Location:
    Argentina
    #4
    Enter Mission Control, then move your mouse to the top right corner. A new desktop should appear there. Click it to add it next to your current desktop.
     
  5. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    #5
    Open Mission Control and move your cursor to the top right of the screen. You'll see an option to create a new desktop. You can drag an app to it from Mission Control and have it setup there. Alternatively, you can simply make an app full screen, and it will create a new desktop for that app. You can then switch between that app (in full screen) and your "regular" desktop.
     
  6. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #6
    Setting an app to full screen mode will make it live in its own desktop, which is swipeable...I've been using that a lot.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Mi
    #7
    Dude, you guys are amazing, that is so cool! That will definitely increase productivity!
     

Share This Page