Am I making too big a deal™?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by iGary, Apr 20, 2006.

  1. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #1
    My computer is finally working pretty well, but it still has a couple of weird sleep issues (I slept it fine last night, but it wouldn't rewake - well it did half way, but still had to be shut down with the power button and restarted)

    I have Apple Care on this think for more than two more years...should I just leave the fracking thing on all the time and sleep the monitor? I know we left computers on for months at a time at the publishing house and no big deal.

    How many of you have sleep issues, gave up and just leave it running, but sleep the monitor?

    Thanks.
     
  2. kretzy macrumors 604

    kretzy

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    #2
    Just get over it you big drama queen!™ :rolleyes: :p :D

    More seriously, though I've only had a few sleep issues, I don't see any problem just leaving it on with the monitor sleeping. If it screws anything up, Apple Care should cover it.
     
  3. joecool85 macrumors 65816

    joecool85

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Location:
    Maine
    #3
    I would get it fixed. Is this your power mac? I checked the stats on mine one time and it uses 140watts sitting idle...I don't want that on all the time lol. It's only 11w when sleeping, so that'd be similar to a couple nightlights.
     
  4. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
    #4
    I leave mine running all the time and just sleep the monitor.

    However i would get it fixed if i were you
     
  5. mjstew33 macrumors 601

    mjstew33

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    Illinois
    #5
    I say get it fixed - whatever they need to do.
     
  6. wordmunger macrumors 603

    wordmunger

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #6
    How about a compromise: shut it down at the end of the day and sleep the monitor the rest of the time.
     
  7. zelmo macrumors 603

    zelmo

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Location:
    Mac since 7.5
    #7
    Gary, are you folks in Annapolis affected by the impending 72% increase in power costs coming this summer to BGE customers?

    Make them fix it.
     
  8. iGary thread starter Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #8
    Luckily they passed a law spanningit out over four years.

    I'll keep an eye on the PM and see if I can isolate it before taking it in.

    They are always very quick to say "software issue" (and believe it or not, I'm a nice guy in real life and have agreed four or five times to reinstall OS X andf the apps I have to use).

    The last time I did it, I told them it was the last time because, you know, it's a computer and should run...uh...software?

    I'm just happy to be getting work done at the mo™.

    mo™ is a registered trademark of the Blue Velvet Corporation and my not be used without the express written consent of Blue Velvet Legal.
     
  9. Chaszmyr macrumors 601

    Chaszmyr

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    #9
    I always leave my PowerMac on and just sleep the monitor, I've done so with a handful of different PowerMacs over the last several years, and never had any problem.
     
  10. matticus008 macrumors 68040

    matticus008

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2005
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    #10
    Do you have EyeTV installed? For some reason 2.0.2 gave my PowerBook strange sleep behavior. Elgato insists it's not their fault, but it started the day I updated. I went back to plain old 2.0 and everything's fine.

    Sleep problems annoy me, since I lived through the California rolling blackouts and I hate to turn off my computers, so sleep mode is critical to my power bill :).
     
  11. joecool85 macrumors 65816

    joecool85

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Location:
    Maine
    #11
    Well its not a problem for the computer to leave it on, its a problem for your electric bill.
     
  12. eVolcre macrumors 65816

    eVolcre

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    #12
    Gary, Follow this link for some discussion of this issue in the MBP. My post there under the same nickname explains the issues I'm having. It's going back .. to be replaced. But it sounds like you have the same issue we're having.

    (this is also a reply to the other 'fracking problem' thread ... Oh, and shutting it down at night instead of sleeping it does nothing. I tried it last night and had the same issue

    eV

    http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=379417
     
  13. Cooknn macrumors 68020

    Cooknn

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    #13
    I mentioned yesterday that my Power Mac has insomnia issues. I just reach to the side of my Cinema HD and turn it off whenever I'm done working. If I'm going to be away for a day or two, I'll turn off the box, or when there are updates it get's rebooted. Whatever works, eh? Small price to pay so that I can run OS X. Nice hardware too, but the entire reason I bought a Mac was so that I could run the descendant of NeXT - the OS I fell in love with back in the early 90's :p
     
  14. BakedBeans macrumors 68040

    BakedBeans

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Location:
    What's Your Favorite Posish
    #14
    with all the troubles you have had and the amount of times you've taken it back you are well within your right to order them to get you a nnew one bud
     
  15. iGary thread starter Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #15
    I'll have to get my work done this week - it's a busy time of the year for me and see what happens. Maybe I take it in again next week if problems persist.

    If it won't sleep "automatically after a period of time, I can deal. If I put it to sleep manually and then it locks up, that's an issue I won't put up with.
     
  16. mjstew33 macrumors 601

    mjstew33

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    Illinois
    #16
    True, true, but you shouldn't have any sleep issues. :(
     
  17. MattG macrumors 68040

    MattG

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Location:
    Fletcher, NC
    #17
    I gave up on mine. I've got a DP 1.8ghz, and sleep mode has NEVER worked correctly on it, regardless of OS revision or how many times it's been reinstalled. I just don't sleep the PM. All my other Macs, I do.
     
  18. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #18
    My Rev. A dual-2.0 had sleep issues from the start - I had to reset the damn thing if it was ever asleep or off for any long period of time. I put up with it because I used it constantly and just left it on. I finally brought it in, and the fix was a new graphics card. Works great now. However, since it seems that every component on your system has been replaced a few times, I'm guessing the whole thing is just a lemon.

    You've got a well-documented history of issues. I'd use it during this heavy work period, then bring it in and, showing that history, demand a replacement. Seriously, no one should put up with all that. It's costing you money (money to not sleep it, money due to lost work when you bring it in).
     
  19. mikemodena macrumors 6502a

    mikemodena

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Location:
    Connecticut
    #19
    I leave my PowerMac on all the time and just sleep the monitors. I found that when I wake it up from sleep that the bluetooth mouse and keyboard act up and it's just easier to turn the monitors on and it works :p
     
  20. rdowns Suspended

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    #20
    I'm having terrible sleep issues but that's probably because I'm in Denver, the time difference, the hotel, you know.

    Seriously, I wouldn't accept this. Document your problems and send Apple an email- get the email of a higher up in Support. Try working that angle as well as the local Apple Store.
     
  21. hikeNM macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Location:
    Somewhere close to a dairy in East Texas
    #21
    I have a 1.8 single and it's always had sleep issues. When I first got it, the fan would stay running when it was asleep. A firmware update fixed it.

    Now if I set it to sleep after a certain period of time, the fan will keep running. But if I manually put it to sleep, it will correctly.

    So I usually just manually put it to sleep.
     

Share This Page