Am I running low on RAM memory ?

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by andy8, Aug 4, 2012.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    #1
    I'm not sure how I should interpret the statistics of Activity Monitor so I decided to post it here so that someone would help me note; if I'm running low on RAM. My Macbook Pro - (currently on 4GB) was very sluggish and that was the reason why I decided to check my Activity Monitor.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. macrumors 68020

    charlieegan3

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Location:
    U.K
  3. Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #3
    Doesn't look it, your page outs are relatively low, your available ram is rather high, that is OSX hasn't needed to use it (yet).
     
  4. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    #4
    I don't think your system is stressed for memory.

    For grins, try "zapping the PRAM" ... Restart the computer and hold down ⌘-option-P-R. Hold it until you hear the "bong". Old timer conventional wisdom says to keep holding the key combo for 3 "bong"s, then let go - the computer will start up.
     
  5. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #5
    Your computer was feeling sluggish because Flash Player and Safari were using the vast majority of CPU power there. No amount of RAM will fix that.
     
  6. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #6
    The page outs are almost the same as page ins however (!). The figure is rather meaningless here though, as it seems that the computer was restarted recently. But it still could indicate a RAM problem. On the other hand, ML's Safari RAM usage is simply insane...
     
  7. macrumors 68040

    dusk007

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    #7
    Exactly. I don't know why people even bother to give advice about RAM. The reason for sluggishness is quite obvious and has nothing to do with RAM. Hell he has 50% free.
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    kemo

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    /Users/kemo
    #8
    you've about 2GBs free memory (Inactive = available to be free)...so the only reason could be the Flash/Safari CPU usage.
     

Share This Page