Am I the only one that HATES my Intel Mac?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by hellodon, Jun 1, 2006.

  1. hellodon macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    #1
    FOR THOSE OF YOU THAT ARE NEW TO THIS THREAD, IT'S ACTUALLY BEEN RESOLVED. I BOUGHT 2GB OF RAM AND MY MACHINE IS RUNNING WELL NOW. JUST FIGURED ID GET THAT OUT OF THE WAY BEFORE YOU READ THIS POST AND QUOTE A SECTION AND THEN REPEAT WHAT'S PROBABLY ALREADY BEEN SAID. I DONT HATE MY INTEL MAC ANYMORE. WE'RE BUDDIES. ANYWAY, FEEL FREE TO READ ON!

    ------------------------------------------------------------

    So it's been 4-5 months now.

    I hate this thing. I work on a slower 17" iMac G5 at work and it smokes everything about my intel iMac.

    If I have endicia open for mail, everything will run slow.

    I do graphics work, if I open photoshop and illustrator at the same time, the first one opened will crash. Either one open on its own runs like absolute crap.

    Want to use dreamweaver? OH.....well good luck.


    I know the first thing everyones going to ask is "how much ram is in it, Rosetta needs ram...." well....

    It was sold to me with 512 ram, it should run on 512...and it doesnt. So i've been told "get more ram"......why sell a product if it's going to run like crap on what you've included? Plus how much improvement am I looking at by spending 240 on 2GB? My G5 at work runs perfect on 512.

    At first I did a powerbook transfer and talked to some people here...and eventually thought "maybe this is why this thing runs like crap"...so I did a fresh clean install....boy did I waste my time.

    It's been even worse. Slow, nothing is stable. The "unexpectedly quit" message seriously needs to get rid of the "un" part because I'm expecting it.

    I mean, if I wanted to just use safari and "mail" then maybe i'd be in good shape with this thing.....no wait....safari updated itself and then ruined flash and shockwave capabilities so that was crap too, only way to fix it apparently is to reinstall the OS.

    Then this weekend, it kept locking up at the OSX loading screen so i had to reinstall the OS.

    I'm seriously on edge with this thing. I think i may want to sell it and get a G5....go back to what made Apple a solid product worth buying.

    This was a horrible idea. Obviously rushed. I don't think it was time to release yet.... i fell victim to it on day one thinking i was getting a way better computer to "work" on. Not a piece of crap to run a web browser on.

    LITERALLY, my 667 G4 powerbook ran better and faster than my intel imac and never had problems. I'm not even joking. i regret more than anything selling that thing. It has haulted my freelance work, and basically cost me money buying into the intel mac.

    "wait wait wait", you're going to say....well....i remember when OSX came out and we all had to transfer to OSX apps and it was not even close to this painful. OSX running in classic mode worked out fine. This is just horrible. I'm so beyond disappointed. It's the worst money I've ever spent...

    IS anyone else as mad as me about these things?

    Oh..on a side note. this guy in the apple store last night, returned his macbook for the second time with problems....HATED it, we talked for a while. hated it so much that he bought a floor model powerbook thats been touched for months. Now I know i'm not alone.
     
  2. sikkinixx macrumors 68020

    sikkinixx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Location:
    Rocketing through the sky!
    #2
    why don't you just sell it, take your loss and go back to your G5?

    And as for your beef with Ram, every computer runs better with more Ram, its part of having a computer so stop complaining and spend the extra money. It's like complaining that you have to buy oil for your car, its an unfortunate nescessity.
     
  3. ManchesterTrix macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    #3
    Man does this make you sound like a whiner.
     
  4. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #4
    Well, when you try to run PPC native PRO applications on an INTEL Mac with the basic CONSUMER amount of RAM, then you're bound to get into trouble, right...? :rolleyes:

    Rosetta needs a lot of RAM, that's pretty well known, and even with lot's of it running Photoshop (and Dreamweaver) on any Intel Mac will be slower than on most iBook G4s...

    Get yourself a PPC Mac until Adobe's software goes Universal...
     
  5. FleurDuMal macrumors 68000

    FleurDuMal

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Location:
    London Town
    #5
    He has a point though (even if it was put quite badly).

    The question is: Should Apple be selling machines at the stock configurations they are (i.e. 512mb RAM) at a time when a lot of the software which defines the Mac - the creative software - doesn't work very well on it?

    I personally think that Apple should only be selling the MB/MBP with minimum 1GB RAM, as it sounds like non-Universal apps don't run very well on anything less (all my information is anecdotal, I have not actual experience myself).
     
  6. jholzner macrumors 65816

    jholzner

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    Champaign, IL
    #6
    No, it doesn't. But it makes you sound like an Apple fan boy. I agree with him. If Apple is selling this with 512 then it should work pretty well with that. Apple always skimps on the RAM. These are pro machines so they should ship with more than 512 anyway since even the low end Macbook comes withe 512. I'd return it and let them know why.
     
  7. R3B00T macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    #7
    I'll trade ya my 20" iMac G5 for it any day of the week...I'd love to have an intel mac, can't afford it.
     
  8. ManchesterTrix macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    #8
    iMacs are Pro machines? And I never said Apple doesn't skimp on the RAM, they stayed at 256 for WAY too long. But complaining about performance, when the problem is known, and refusing to do anything about it, is pure whining.

    It's already been said perfectly in this thread:
     
  9. Malcster macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #9
    Whilst i agree about more RAM, Apple consider the iMac a Consumer level machine, not a Pro.

    edit: ditto. ManchesterTrix has way faster fingers than me ;)
     
  10. hellodon thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    #10
    So the car requires 2 quarts of oil...and only comes with 0.5 quarts? It should just run like sh** until i take care of it? No..the car dealer understands that this would be a problem and cause me (driver/user of intel mac) a problem and doesnt sell it like that.....you dig? I didnt buy this from one of those "no credit check" places....I bought it from apple. Is this their new reputation?

    As for the other guys....thanks for understanding what i'm saying except the guy calling me a whiner...yes...I am whining..I'm not happy with this thing.

    Are you HONESTLY saying if i go out and fill this thing with 2GB today that I will be happy? Because i will....let me know
     
  11. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #11
    Of course... many people have no need for more, even if they could afford it... :rolleyes:

    Also, if you click the Learn more link under RAM when choosing a MacBook in Apple Store you will see that Apple are aware that you cannot run anything smoothly with just 512 MB RAM:

     

    Attached Files:

  12. ManchesterTrix macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    #12
    That's because you bought the wrong computer because you didn't do your due diligence.
     
  13. celebrian23 macrumors 65816

    celebrian23

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Location:
    Under the sun
    #13
    I think if you're paying so much money for a computer, it should work at the base configurations- I shouldn't have to add RAM!
     
  14. devilot Moderator emeritus

    devilot

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    #14
    But see, I was under the impression that the 512MB is sufficient to run all the "stock" software; not Adobe CS2.

    As for the car analogy, a better comparison would be, a stock car would need say 6 qts of oil, it comes w/ that much-- but only to power stock configurations and uses of the car. If you were to somehow modify the car (ie, running other software, and I'm guessing some hardware), then the needs would change as well.

    And hellodon, if you're so unhappy, as it seems you are-- cut your losses, save yourself the headache and it seems, heartache, SELL that iMac and get a PPC machine.
     
  15. IJ Reilly macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville
  16. hellodon thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    #16
    You're right....and I realized that shortly after. But this is June now and nothing is improving on these machines...they are just releasing more and more.

    As i said before....are you saying if i go out and buy 2GB right now and install it tonight, that everything changes and this thing will be incredible? Because I'll do it if that's the honest case. I just don't see that making this a solid computer. It's not THAT much more RAM
     
  17. jholzner macrumors 65816

    jholzner

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    Champaign, IL
    #17
    I see your point and I now realize that he is on an iMac. For some reason I thought he was on a Macbook Pro...which I still think should ship with 1GB standard.
     
  18. FleurDuMal macrumors 68000

    FleurDuMal

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Location:
    London Town
    #18
    You'd effectively be quadrupling your RAM. That's quite a lot.
     
  19. bbrosemer macrumors 6502a

    bbrosemer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    #19
    Well if your G5 is ran so well why did you upgrade....? I personally switched, its the first line of Intel Macs, and come on 512 of ram if you planned on getting Leapoard you were going to need a gig anyway... 512... You probably have 20 widgets up and running too and that probably isnt helping...
     
  20. technicolor macrumors 68000

    technicolor

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Location:
    ><><><><
    #20
    Sell it and stop whinning. There is so much information on this board that anybody buying a computer without knowing what they are getting into is just being a cry baby.
    You hate something you paid for? LMAO

    Get over it :rolleyes:
     
  21. hellodon thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    #21
    Ahh...yeah that's true.

    I went from 256 to a gig in my powerbook and I couldnt really tell. That's why I'm bothering to ask/argue this RAM thing....will it really make this iMac run better? I mean, that is the MAX i can put in it....so if that's not making it run the best i possibly can, then I'm really going to be disappointed.

    I don't want to invest in a mistake if it's not going to fix it is what i'm saying, overall.
     
  22. lonepilgrim macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #22
    Intel/Universal apps work fine on 512MB. PPC apps don't. It's as simple as that. Intel Macs are essentially "not compatible" with PPC apps - except they are, because Apple did everyone a favour and made something that helps you out if you really want to run them. What they said about the new iMac being 2-3x faster, MBP 4-5x faster, whatever, that might have been BS. What they *didn't* try and convince everyone is that PPC apps would run like a dream on the stock config.

    Basically, you bought the wrong computer - to me, that's clear.
     
  23. technicolor macrumors 68000

    technicolor

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Location:
    ><><><><
    #23
    people upgrade ram all the time, why are you all acting like upgrading ram is such an absurd thing to have to do.

    the fact of the matter is dreamweaver, photoshop, et al ARE NOT INCLUDED APPLICATIONS ON A MAC, THEY ARE ADD-ONS. his 512 ram would work for what apple sold him AN IMAC WITH ILIFE AND THE STANDARD SUITES THAT COME ON APPLES.

    He added apps he needs to add ram
    simple as that

    the computer does work with its stock configuration

    Apple did not sell you dreamweaver and all the other applications you are complaining about. Talk to Adobe if you got issues with their software not being universal.
     
  24. ddrueckhammer macrumors 65816

    ddrueckhammer

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Location:
    America's Wang
    #24
    More RAM and all of the apps you use being universal will make it an extremely competant computer. Just go upgrade the RAM. You can get 2Gb for like $180 on NewEgg. Patriot or Gigaram. Or pay $224 for OWC 2Gbs.
     
  25. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #25
    This was my thought too. hellodon, why buy an intel machine if you are going to be running all PPC apps?
     

Share This Page