AMD based Macs?

Discussion in 'Apple, Inc and Tech Industry' started by Chico3001, Nov 16, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Chico3001 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    #1
  2. ~Shard~ macrumors P6

    ~Shard~

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    1123.6536.5321
    #2
    I don't think Apple would move to AMD so soon after making the Intel transition. That being said, adopting AMD chipsets would not be as significant of a transition as moving from PPC to Intel architectures of course.

    Regardless, it doesn't matter - as everyone knows, Steve Jobs' next move will not be to AMD chips but rather to Sun chips. :cool:

    [​IMG]
     
  3. Warbrain macrumors 603

    Warbrain

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #3
    I really doubt it. AMD doesn't have the capacity to meet Apple's demand. Intel does. Intel is the only company that does and Apple knows that, Intel knows that, and AMD knows that.
     
  4. ~Shard~ macrumors P6

    ~Shard~

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    1123.6536.5321
    #4
    I agree. Plus, I don't think Apple would want to muddy the waters by announcing yet another "transition" - it wouldn't reflect well on them and the news would (rightly or wrongly) be taken negatively since the perception would be that Apple doesn't know what they are doing and always changing their focus. ;) :cool:
     
  5. dpaanlka macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #5
    All logic and reason point to no.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page