AMD chief says Apple to use AMD chips

Discussion in 'Apple, Inc and Tech Industry' started by HecubusPro, Sep 21, 2006.

  1. HecubusPro macrumors 6502a

    HecubusPro

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #1
    I posted this elsewhere, but I thought it would be important to include here.

    From Appleinsider...

     
  2. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #2
    It's not based on anything real...he just says it's obvious that they will because people want choice. The head of AMD optimistic about prospects for his company in competing against Intel? I would hope so.
     
  3. HecubusPro thread starter macrumors 6502a

    HecubusPro

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #3
    I've just never heard AMD actually come out and say "we want to work with Apple." I could be wrong (and usually am:) )
     
  4. Dont Hurt Me macrumors 603

    Dont Hurt Me

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Location:
    Yahooville S.C.
    #4
    At the moment Intel is just hammering AMD, 2 yrs ago was a different story but today Intel has squashed Freescale,IBM & AMD. Not any of those guys have anything today that can battle the Duo's.
     
  5. Sdashiki macrumors 68040

    Sdashiki

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Location:
    Behind the lens
    #5
    This could get interesting.

    So, there is gonna be AMD and Intel versions of the same configs?

    Which will be cheaper?

    My guess is this is BS, but hell, I said that when we heard whispers of Intel.
     
  6. Bibulous macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    #6
    More options would be good for Apple, but I can hardly keep Intel's product names straight :eek:
     
  7. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #7
    perhaps when/if Intel starts sucking then yes. but there is nothing to back up his statement. its just a hypothetical conclusion that he hopes to be true.
     
  8. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #8
    They sort of said they were working with Apple three years ago.

    I wouldn't be surprised if Apple ultimately offers AMD chips if they continue to make headway in the chip wars (although I think they might have too much invested in the Intel partnership to risk it for quite a while), but I think it's easy to read too much into his comments. Sounds like cheerleading and wishful thinking to me.
     
  9. Mord macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    the K8L will still not compare to the core2duo, amd is pretty much dead in the water seeing as intel has lost their MHz madness.
     
  10. Aaon macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    #10
    I would say there is definitely no claim in that passage that Apple WILL be using them, more of a hope that Apple will. And I disagree. I think Apple is committed to teh Intel product line at the moment. The Core 2 Duo and Xeon processors are simply fantastic, and outdistance AMD's offerings at the present, and for the foreseeable future (which, admittedly, in the semiconductor world is no more than a year or two).

    But even putting aside the technical reasons for Apple to stay with Intel, I don't think they would want to complicate the product line by having a processor brand choice. Apple produces a good, solid product with power and speed, and there is no overwhelming reason for them to offer a choice and point of confusion that most consumers frankly don't care about!
     
  11. kainjow Moderator emeritus

    kainjow

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2000
    #11
    At this point Apple can use any x86 or PPC processor in the future it wants, which is a huge advantage.
     
  12. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #12

    Vivè Intel! :D
     
  13. andiwm2003 macrumors 601

    andiwm2003

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #13
    no they can't. they can of course in theory but they would have to redesign the logic boards, come up with a GPU to replace the intel integrated GPU., BIOS and all that. Maybe change Bootcamp a bit.

    in the end they will have to make extra investments for maybe 10% cheaper chips or 10% better performance (if AMD gets their act together). that simply will not be worth the hassle.
     
  14. kainjow Moderator emeritus

    kainjow

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2000
    #14
    Yes they can :) I'm not talking about a quick swap of a CPU. I'm just talking in general. From the software end, it's cake since the OS has already been ported to x86 from PPC. And I'm not talking about now, I'm talking about the relatively-far future when/if Intel starts sucking like IBM did...
     
  15. hulugu macrumors 68000

    hulugu

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Location:
    the faraway towns
    #15
    Yep. UBs could be just awesome. Someone deserves a cookie.
     
  16. rockthecasbah macrumors 68020

    rockthecasbah

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Location:
    Moorestown, NJ
    #16
    I don't see it happening, at least not for a few years. AMD still has a long way to go last time i checked (which wasn't that recently or in depthly so don't attack :rolleyes: ) in their chip development, particularly portable which is a big market for Apple.
     
  17. ~Shard~ macrumors P6

    ~Shard~

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    1123.6536.5321
    #17
    Not likely after the investment Apple has made in transitioning to the Intel platform. A switch to AMD would cuase all sorts of complications and confusion. If it happens, it won't be for a long time, I'm thinking. That being said, it probably wouldn't be as major of a move as going from PowerPC to Intel was...

    In the end though, it doesn't matter! We all know that after Intel chips, Steve won't be moving to AMD chips, he'll be moving to Sun chips! :cool:

    [​IMG]
     
  18. jhu macrumors 6502a

    jhu

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    #18
    exactly. kind of like there being no way in hell that they'd use chips from intel.
     
  19. 4God macrumors 68020

    4God

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Location:
    My Mac
    #19

    WOO-Hooo...... attachment.php.gif
     
  20. SpaceMagic macrumors 68000

    SpaceMagic

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales
    #20
    Apple like to keep things simple, I can't imagine them using both intel and amd - it would just be so confusing!! I personally really like Intel's lineup and can see it taking Apple for quite some years.
     
  21. WildPalms macrumors 6502a

    WildPalms

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    #21
    I want the drugs that Hector Ruiz is on! Then I'll believe in rainbows and unicorns and magic rabbits and .......Apple using AMD chips...
    .....sorry, went a bit too far with that last one.
     
  22. Warbrain macrumors 603

    Warbrain

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #22

    Only if they're Harvest Cheddar.
     
  23. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #23
    Choice? Since when is Apple about giveing choices?
    That dude is smoking crack.
     
  24. Silencio macrumors 68020

    Silencio

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    NYC
    #24
    This is the same Hector Ruiz who was running Motorola's semiconductor division when Steve Jobs returns to Apple, pulled the plug on Macintosh clones, and left Motorola with no choice but to write off millions of dollars in StarMax inventory.

    I wouldn't think he would be in any great hurry to do business with Steve Jobs again, but I think it's just a case of "wishful thinking out loud" on his part. If something really is in the works, then you think Ruiz would have learned something from that video chip manufacturer that AMD just bought about what happens when you pre-announce something Apple's going to do. :D
     
  25. hagjohn macrumors 6502

    hagjohn

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #25
    As said above, there's really no reason why they can't use AMD or even VIA chips.

    If Intel can't give them enough chips to keep up with demand they just might look to others to supplement.

    Don't count out AMD because it was just a couple of months ago where people were counting out Intel. Things change in the chip industry very quickly.
     

Share This Page