AMD Power PC 604

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by pgwalsh, May 13, 2003.

  1. macrumors 68000

    pgwalsh

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2002
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, Colorado
    #1
    Maybe someone can explain this.

    My Micro-Star International WMIinfo application reports my AMD CPU Family as a Power PC 604.

    I know that AMD is based on RISC in the backend, but is it really that close to a 604e?

    I posted all the info below.

    Name : AMD Athlon(tm) XP 2700+
    Description: x86 Family 6 Model 8 Stepping 1
    Manufacturer : AuthenticAMD
    Version : Model 8, Stepping 1
    DataWidth : 32 Bits
    Socket Designation : Socket A
    Type : Central Processor
    CPU Id : 0383FBFR00000681
    CPU Family : Power PC 604
    CPU Stepping : 1
    Load Percentage : 100 %
    Max ClockSpeed : 2019 MHz
    Current ClockSpeed : 2019 MHz
    Voltage : 1.6 V
    External Clock : 166 MHz
    Upgrade Method : ZIF Socket
    L2 Cache Size : 256 Kb
    L2 Cache Speed : 673 MHz
    Display Availability : Running/Full Power
    PowerManagement Supported : false
    Status : OK
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    maradong

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2003
    Location:
    Luxembourg
    #2
    i think it is only the brand or model name of the cpu, as the architecture is clearly x86, as pointed above...
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 68000

    pgwalsh

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2002
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, Colorado
    #3
    Right, but we know it has a RISC backenda and a CISC translator in the front end. Maybe being in the PPC family would explain the performance differnce in mhz between Intel and AMD.
     
  4. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Location:
    Muncie, Indiana
    #4
    Why? I thought AMD processors were faster than Intel's.:D
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 68000

    pgwalsh

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2002
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, Colorado
    #5
    That's true at the same clock frequency by a long shot. Espcially since the 3200+ is at 2.4 Ghz and the P3 3.2 ghz are almost comparable in speed, but not due to the FSB.
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    yzedf

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Location:
    Connecticut
    #6
    Intel beats AMD because of memory bandwidth.
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2002
    #7
    The RISC backend is actually Alpha based.
     
  8. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
  9. thread starter macrumors 68000

    pgwalsh

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2002
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, Colorado
    #9
    Thanks, that shows my point even more.
     
  10. macrumors 65816

    maradong

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2003
    Location:
    Luxembourg
    #10
    wrong :D
    intel beats amd, even if it s only for a small part, because of the quadpump technique. wich is only indirectly related to ram throughput ...
     
  11. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Location:
    Bridgewater NJ
    #11
    Depends on the program your running is and how optimized it is towards either architecture, the Athlon's shorter pipeline and design gives it a higher IPC than the P4 meaning clock to clock, it will be faster, however, the P4 can scale alot higher than the Athlon meaning it has a lot more clocks. Its sort of like saying the one Athlon MHz is the equivalent of two Pentium 4 MHzs but the Pentium 4 has twice the Mhzs of the Athlon. I can go into this a lot more, but I'm tired so I'll explain this in detail later.

    Because of how different these two architectures are, it really boils down to the program being used to compare the two processors, branch heavy programs will favor shorter-pipeline architectures with little mispredict penalties like the Athlon. programs that don't have quite so many branches will favor architectures like the Pentium4 with it's high clock speed. Generally, business apps and most integer code is branch heavy which is why we see the Athlon dominate in this area, likewise, we see the P4 dominate in areas like content creation and encoding.

    Current Situation:
    General Usage: Athlon
    Content Creation: Pentium 4
    Games: Tie (Although the Pentium 4 is better in most games)
    Video Encoding: Pentium 4
    3D Rendering: Pentium 4
     

Share This Page