aMSN...

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by queshy, Jan 18, 2007.

  1. queshy macrumors 68040

    queshy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    #1
    Hello,

    So Im just getting started with the new iMac...I dnloaded aMSN and when I activate expose I can see it, but when I click on it, it slides off hte screen. I cant see my contact list or anything (cant use the program basically). I know its there because its visible with expose, but when I click it it disappears...kinda hard to explain. anyone know? thanks!
     
  2. 4nr- macrumors regular

    4nr-

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Location:
    Göteborg, Sweden
    #2
    Never heard of anything like this. Try fixing it by just reinstalling it. aMSN is a relatively buggy client, but it gets better and better; it might just be a bug
     
  3. Compile 'em all macrumors 601

    Compile 'em all

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    #3
    Use Adium if you are looking for a decent MSN Messenger on OS X.
     
  4. Sherman Homan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    #4
    Sounds like a plist associated with it has decided to send it off of the monitor, out of view!

    Find:
    com.microsoft.Messenger.plist
    com.microsoft.MessengerDaemon.plist
    and maybe:
    Microsoft Messenger User Cache.plist

    Toss'em out!
     
  5. wmmk macrumors 68020

    wmmk

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    The Library.
    #5
    or just use iChat by setting MSN transport in a jabber account, which you can set up with PSI.
     
  6. DarkNetworks macrumors 68000

    DarkNetworks

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    #6
    Microsoft Messenger is not too bad either IMO. With the new Display Personal Message and What You're Listening Now, it is a pretty good feature for me.
     
  7. dllavaneras macrumors 68000

    dllavaneras

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Location:
    Caracas, Venezuela
    #7
    It's not bad, but it's not that good... just look at all the things the windows counterpart can do.
     
  8. queshy thread starter macrumors 68040

    queshy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    #8
    How couild I use iChat if I have MSN>?

    I'm just looking for an IM program that will work with my MSN account and that has video conferencing.
     
  9. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #9
    I usually use adium, but mercury messenger for video...
     
  10. Killyp macrumors 68040

    Killyp

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    #10
    Adium is good. I use aMSN when I want to do webcam, but other than that, Adium is miles ahead of everything else. aMSN is still pretty buggy and Mercury is irritatingly complex (tabs etc...).
     
  11. Sam* macrumors regular

    Sam*

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    i used to use amsn

    now just use microsoft messenger,

    clean and simple, does everything i need anywway:)
     
  12. 21stcenturykid macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Location:
    Newcastle UK
    #12
    Are you sayin you can use iChat to speak to your msn contacts?

    Im using Adium at present i love its features..tabs, customizable everythings, etc
     
  13. DarkNetworks macrumors 68000

    DarkNetworks

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    #13
    Adium is pretty good as a whole I guess but when you really want to get into the major details, there's where it starts to lack.
     
  14. 21stcenturykid macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Location:
    Newcastle UK
    #14
    If it had Video Conferencing it would be a whole different story!
     
  15. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #15
    No... the list of options, as far as I know, is...

    - aMSN

    - Mercury

    - Run Windows (and then either Windows Live Msgr or Trillian Pro)
     
  16. nickster9224 macrumors 6502a

    nickster9224

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Location:
    35 Miles From Chicago, Illinois
  17. BilltheCat macrumors regular

    BilltheCat

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Location:
    Sanford FL
    #17
    I use the Messenger client for mac and it works fine. Never seen adium.
    Have seen trillian for the pc. Dont know if it comes for osx or not.
     

Share This Page