An American Wii in Europe

Discussion in 'Console Games' started by astral, May 9, 2007.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    #1
    Has anyone tried to play an American Wii in Europe? I've been able to find that the European ones are playable in the States without a voltage converter even though the adapter only says 240v, but I would assume there is less risk in plugging a device into a socket that draws less voltage than normal.
     
  2. macrumors 68040

    takao

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Location:
    Dornbirn (Austria)
    #2
    to make it short:

    device being fixed at 230-240v plugged in 110v socket: device won't work but doesn't get damage

    device being fixed at 110 being plugged into 230v socket: say goodbye to your device

    the thing is that the power unit doesn't "draw" voltage but simply get's provided the 230v 50hz no matter what and if it can't handle it i very likely frys

    and it could potentially not only ruin your power adapter but also your wii permanently

    though i haven't tried it ;)
     
  3. macrumors 604

    GFLPraxis

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    #3
    You can just buy a transformer.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    #4
    Yep, already got a 1500w transformer, just seeing if it was necessary to use it. All of my other electronics with power bricks (ie this laptop) are all rated 110-240, so it looks like the wii may be the only thing i need to transform anyway. And the worst case i have to spring for a new power brick, they don't seem to be too expensive.
     
  5. macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Darkplace Hospital
    #5
    I just bought myself a PowerBook, Wii and DS Lite European chargers and left them at our place in Poland. But I'm coming from UK to Europe so they don't feel like they cost as much. I don't know how it would be going from $ to Euro.
    For all I know I might just need a socket convertor and that'll be safe! I really don't want to run the risk :)
     
  6. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    #6
    socket converters will work for the pb at least. That's all Apple's 40 dollar "world travel" kit is.
     

Share This Page