Android apn settings for throttling?

Discussion in 'Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices' started by Xgm541, Feb 4, 2012.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #1
    What are the apn settings for AT&T throttling bypass? I read somewhere that this exists.

    Wouldn't it be possible to use on an iPhone?
     
  2. macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    It doesn't work on the iPhone.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #3
    Is there a reason why it doesn't?
     
  4. macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #4
    Not sure. All I know is that it has been tested and found not to work.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #5
    Hmm thanks for your reply. It's strange that it doesn't but that's okay. I'll just deal.
     
  6. macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #6
    I believe it has something to do with the LTE APN and the HSPA+ APN. Seeing as no iPhone currently has LTE, the APN change bypass doesn't work.
     
  7. macrumors 603

    rgarjr

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Los Angeles Area
    #7
    Maybe this trick only works on LTE enabled phones since they can fallback on HSPA+.
     
  8. macrumors 65816

    chakraj

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Location:
    So Cal
    #8
    Check your apn and use the other one. AT&T has three I don't remember all three but one is "phone" and one is " media net" google is your friend.
     
  9. macrumors 68030

    rjohnstone

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Location:
    PHX, AZ.
    #9
    AT&T only has 4 APN's and none of them let you bypass throttling.

    wap.cingular APN Type: <blank>
    Phone APN Type: default,supl,agps,fota,dun,
    Broadband (for tethering) APN Type: tether, entitle
    MMS APN Type: MMS

    A lot of people default to wap.cingular since the newer APN's are function specific.
    Throttling is based on your SIM card's serial number.
    Changing your APN will do nothing.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #10
    Thank you!
     

Share This Page