[Another College Thread] Help me out with 34 free elective credits!

Discussion in 'Community' started by ravenvii, Jan 20, 2005.

1. ravenvii macrumors 604

ravenvii

I am majoring in Philosophy, and plan to go to law school after I graduate.

With the major I get a requirement of 34 free elective credits. That means I can do whatever I want with it - randomly pick classes I enjoy, or get a minor. I was thinking of going for a minor in Government. But the first class I'm taking this semester, American Government 101, well, is horrible. I hate it. I don't think I want to suffer this crap for 17 more credits to complete the requirement for the minor.

My other considerations are sociology, criminology, psychology, history or religion. Or, well, the above mentioned "random classes" route. What do you guys suggest I do? I'm not sure what field of law I want to go into, but I think I'll avoid the court-heavy ones.

Thanks in advance for your thoughts!

2. Timelessblur macrumors 65816

Timelessblur

Personly I say go with math minor. Math is easy and fun :D (ok so I am an engineering major and after this semster I be 3 hours shy of my minor)

3. allisonv7 macrumors 6502

Depending on what type of law you would like to eventually practice you could find something in that field, otherwise I would just say enjoy yourself. A minor isn't going to be a big deal on your resume, take classes you'll enjoy and have a good time. Once you get to law school you're going to be stuck taking a bunch of not so fun classes, you might as well have fun while you can :)

allison.

p.s. - I graduated in June and am missing school badly!! Appreciate it while you're there :)

4. Sun Baked macrumors G5

Sun Baked

If you are planning on going to law school, and possibly opening up your own practice some day -- a minor in business might be helpful.

At the very least accounting 101.

5. Leareth macrumors 68000

Leareth

Sociology - explains how society works