Another college thread...

Discussion in 'Community' started by Macaddicttt, Jan 17, 2005.

1. Macaddicttt macrumors 6502a

Macaddicttt

Okay, I need some advice from people who maybe have gone through what I'm planning on doing. Okay, right now I'm at Georgetown earning a BA. I don't know what my major is yet, but I'm really leaning towards history or theology. I know neither one is particularly useful in terms of jobs. When I was choosing what college I wanted to go to, I decided to do something "useless" for undergraduate and then go to graduate school for something a little more practical. So far I have in mind two very different career paths.

The first is continue and get a doctorate in whatever I end up settling on and becoming a professor. The question here is what can I do while I'm going through graduate school? I need to pay for my graduate school by myself, so I'll need some sort of job.

Okay, second and radically different option. I'm thinking of becoming either an architect or an engineer. My first impulse is to go with architecture, but I hear it doesn't pay very well. Engineers tend to make a bit more money. Okay, the questions here are a little more detailed. First I have to know what kind of job I can get while paying for graduate school. Second is how much money is there really in architecture? Third is how in depth should I go with physics and math classes in undergrad? Unfortunately, Georgetown doesn't have a very good program with either. And I haven't taken math since 11th grade when I got a 5 on the AB Calc AP test. I guess really with this one, I want to know about the careers. Anyone in either? What schools should I be looking at? What should I be looking for in a graduate school?

Thanks for any help. If anyone on these boards is an architect, I'd really like to have some advice or information about the field. It really fascinates me a lot and I love designing/drawing buildings and the like.

2. Leareth macrumors 68000

Leareth