Another what to buy question

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by nicolap99, May 28, 2005.

1. nicolap99 macrumors newbie

Hi Guys (and gals)
    Complete newbie here, and another doubting pc user asking the eternal question.

I have an ageing laptop which is on it's last legs in terms of processing and ram capability.I still intend to use the laptop to cope with work related issues, excel, visio, word, spc xl etc..

I've discovered the world of digital photography with a Canon G5 off ebay , and I'm hooked. Trouble is the laptop is simply not up to it.

Considering a move to either a mini mac or the new iMac G5. Space is an issue here, I use the laptop in our bedroom.

I want the mac (which ever one, or other recommendations) to do the following.
    Email, browse the net,use with Photoshop for digital images. Not much more than that really.

But.....there always is.....how will it network with my sons pc? we have ntl broadband ...is this an issue?

Thanks in anticipation, I've always admired the different approach, just need some confirmation before I take the plunge.

My preference is for the cheaper mini mac , can I use other manufacturers mouse and keyboard. Just don't like the look of the mouse in particular.

Regards

Denis

2. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

Mitthrawnuruodo

Welcome to the boards. :)

The Mac mini with a cheap 17" LCD (like this one) would probably suit you just fine. Get the 1.25 GHz version with standard HD (and get an external USB2 and/or FireWire disk when you need it) but get at least 512 MB RAM.

(If you want 512 just get it BTO from Apple, but if you want 1 GB get a 3rd party chip from i.e. Crucial (the most recommended brand here at MR) or TwinMOS (which I have in my iBook) and either install it yourself (you need a putty knife and a bit of a nerve) or get an Apple Service Provider to install it (if they do it fairly cheap)).