Anti-Virus scanner... but not

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by Mechcozmo, Jun 22, 2005.

  1. Mechcozmo macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #1
    Alright, because there seem to be quite a few issues every once in a while with people needing anti-virus protection for their Mac due to some overzealous IT department or all-too-powerfull manager of a coffeehouse with WiFi, I made up DNT-AV.

    Basically, it just makes up a bunch of crap about scanning for viruses so that you can do what you need to do without seriously screwing over your hard drive with real anti-virus software.

    DISCLAIMER: THIS SOFTWARE DOES NOT SCAN FOR VIRUSES. IT IS DESIGNED TO ALL YOU TO BLUFF YOUR WAY ONTO A NETWORK SO YOU CAN DO YOUR JOB. DO NOT RELY ON THIS IF YOU ARE IN A MISSION-CRITICAL SITUATION BUT INSTEAD NEED TO CHECK YOUR MAIL AT A COFFEEHOUSE OR SOMETHING!

    It is a shell script. To run, open the Terminal and type "sh " and then drag the file into the Terminal window. Do not include those quotes! Then press enter. The script will launch and do its thing.

    After downloading, you need to change the ".txt" extension to ".sh", I only made it ".txt" so that I could upload it to here :D

    I made this up so that I could get onto various WiFi networks that are provided free, but so long as I can show that my computer is clean of viruses. This kinda bugged me because my Mac was clean... however I didn't have the ability to scan for viruses. Now, I do. :)

    Oh, DNT-AV stands for "Do Not Trust Anti Virus". :)
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Mechcozmo thread starter macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #2
    Updated. Same warnings as above, but it now is fancier. :D
     

    Attached Files:

  3. killuminati macrumors 68020

    killuminati

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    #3
    I tried it with both of the files that you uploaded but in Terminal I got the error "No such file or directory"

    What does that mean? Well, I can guess as to what it means but what do I do about it?
     
  4. Leeloo the 5th macrumors member

    Leeloo the 5th

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Location:
    Belgium
    #4
    Excellent, it works great! I had a few chuckles when reading all that "crap" ;)
     
  5. Leeloo the 5th macrumors member

    Leeloo the 5th

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Location:
    Belgium
    #5
    Didn't you forget to change the extension from .txt to .sh after downloading, but before running it? I did that, typed in the terminal "sh" followed by a space, and then dragged the file to the terminal window.
     
  6. killuminati macrumors 68020

    killuminati

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    #6
    I didn't do a space after the 'sh' :eek:. well it works now.
     
  7. Mechcozmo thread starter macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #7
    Yup. All the feel of a Windows box, but none of the issues.

    Oh, something I noticed-- even if you press "N" it will 'scan' your computer. Have to learn some more about scripting, I guess... (I learned all of this from some fast Googleing and guesses :D)
     
  8. mduser63 macrumors 68040

    mduser63

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #8
    I don't have a need for it at the moment, but it's still a neat little script. There are a few spelling errors. You can easily fix them by opening the script in TextEdit and doing a spell check.
     
  9. Mechcozmo thread starter macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #10
    Can't get the stupid IF statement to work... otherwise, it is really nice. Can someone help me with this?

    Same instructions as above to make it run as a script.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Mechcozmo thread starter macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #11
    Do Not Trust-Anti Virus is proud to present...

    An update! This update includes such enhancements such as:
    • Spelling corrections
    • Better world choice
    • Longer run-time (to seem more real)
    • Ultra-poweerful, Ultra-1337, Ultra-PWN3G, Ultra-cool VIRUS SCANNING ENGINE!! WOOHOO!!!:p

    Anyways, here it is. Unzip it. Run it the same way you would the other versions (mentioned above). Standard disclaimer applies about this not actually doing anything but instead allows you to gain access to a network that would otherwise not let you on until you run a virus scan.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. OnceUGoMac macrumors 6502a

    OnceUGoMac

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
  12. evoluzione macrumors 68010

    evoluzione

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    down the road, that's where i'll always be
    #13
    i've never encountered one of the problems you've mentioned above... so say if you went to a "Sixbucks" and connected to their network, it wouldn't let you on because of a virus checker requirement?? how would it know? what happens so that you can't log on???

    i'm confused, but i'll remember this thread for sure! just in case :) thanks!
     
  13. Mechcozmo thread starter macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #14

    Their network wouldn't complain, but sometimes places won't let you on (give you the password, etc) until you prove you are clean. Pain because Macs and Linux-based ARE clean... but that won't stop the ignorant.

    Remember, if there are any bugs that they notice, it is because it is a Mac and so it is different. :p
     
  14. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #15
    It tells me "Permission Denied."
    I guess it doesn't really matter - as I don't really need it (I was curious), but I thought you might want to know.
     
  15. Mechcozmo thread starter macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #16
    Are you just dragging the file into the Terminal, or are you adding in the "sh " part in before it? The "sh" command tells the computer to run a shell script, which this is. I may try to turn it into an Applescript...:rolleyes: but that's a bit down the line.

    Anyways, that may solve your problem.
     
  16. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #17
    Thanks.

    Silly me. I was hitting enter after I typed in "sh " - now it works fine
     
  17. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #18
    So just to clear things up for me; does it actually do anything? Like make any system changes at all?
     
  18. UberMac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Location:
    England
    #19
    This is the best idea EVER! :D You deserve a medal Mechcozmo!

    In fact...here you go, oh wait, I'd best check it for viruses first *ahem*

    [​IMG]
     
  19. Mechcozmo thread starter macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #20
    I hereby direct your attention to the red text above and now below.:rolleyes:

    Hehe. Thanks for the medal. Does it come with a cash prize?:p
     
  20. ITASOR macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
  21. Mechcozmo thread starter macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #22
    Here you go, a screenshot!
    (I changed my Terminal's colors around; your color scheme will vary depending on what you have your settings set to. I like the green-on-black. Makes it feel... techie...;))
    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page