Any 10.4.7 issues?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by lamina, Jun 27, 2006.

  1. lamina macrumors 68000

    lamina

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Location:
    From Canada, living in Seoul
    #1
    Has anyone noted any issues with the update? Any differences?

    I'm downloading it as I type.
     
  2. celebrian23 macrumors 65816

    celebrian23

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Location:
    Under the sun
    #2
    my connection is kind of slow so I have a while to wait. I hope there's no issues :p
     
  3. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #3
    The blue screen before the desktop comes up was kind of long, but just wait it out.

    PithHelmet prevents itself from loading on Safari launch as a precaution. Everything else seems okay so far for me...Safari, Mail, Office, iTunes...
     
  4. lamina thread starter macrumors 68000

    lamina

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Location:
    From Canada, living in Seoul
    #4
    Took FOREVER to reboot. And now my airport and time aren't in the top right-hand corner anymore!

    Has anyone else seen this? I'm going to reboot again.
     
  5. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #5
    Just go into System Preferences and put them back in manually. That's happened occasionally with past updates...usually with the Bluetooth menu item though.
     
  6. lamina thread starter macrumors 68000

    lamina

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Location:
    From Canada, living in Seoul
    #6
    Rebooted, still not there. I set it manually in system preferences, and it still doesn't show up.
     
  7. netdog macrumors 603

    netdog

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #7
    Strange, my iMac Intel download was 64.9MB and my MacBook download was 133MB. Any ideas why this would be the case?
     
  8. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #8
    Successful reboots on:

    MacBook Pro
    mini core duo
    iMac 17" core duo
    12" 1.5GHz PB
     
  9. lamina thread starter macrumors 68000

    lamina

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Location:
    From Canada, living in Seoul
    #9
    Rebooted again, reset PRAM, still does not show:

    Time
    Battery
    AirPort
    Bluetooth

    Has anyone else seen this?!
     
  10. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #10
    Hmm...is this on your PB or iMac? Everything is fine on my Rev. D PB...
     
  11. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #11
    You might have neglected some other downloads.

    Note that some downloads are dependent and only appear after certain downloads have been installed.
     
  12. lamina thread starter macrumors 68000

    lamina

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Location:
    From Canada, living in Seoul
    #12

    It's on my PB...

    Think I should archive and install and try again?
     
  13. bosrs1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    #13
    Crap, I got white screen of death. I can't get the OS to boot. It keeps going right to the firmware after the update...

    Don't upgrade yet!
     
  14. bosrs1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    #14
    Psyke!
     
  15. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #15
    Did you repair permissions?

    Or try dragging com.apple.systemuiserver.plist to your desktop and restarting.

    What if you create a new user account...does it work then?
     
  16. lamina thread starter macrumors 68000

    lamina

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Location:
    From Canada, living in Seoul
    #16
    Also, Spotlight no longer works (Command-Space)

    What the deal is?
     
  17. Applespider macrumors G4

    Applespider

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
    #17
    Not yet... Try downloading the Combo update and running that over the top...
     
  18. lamina thread starter macrumors 68000

    lamina

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Location:
    From Canada, living in Seoul
    #18
    Repaired permissions, rebooted. Nothing. Logged in as nother user, still nothing. I'm not sure where to find that com file, so I'm going to see what the combo update will do for me.

    Wish me luck :)
     
  19. benthewraith macrumors 68040

    benthewraith

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #19
    works for me.

    The only site that isn't loading for me.....never mind. :cool:
     
  20. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #20
    Good luck...sounds like you might have to go with the archive and install option. :(
     
  21. lamina thread starter macrumors 68000

    lamina

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Location:
    From Canada, living in Seoul
    #21
    How much free space does an archive and install need? I only have about 6 gigs free.
     
  22. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #22
    My new MBP burst into flames! Oh, the humanity!
     
  23. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #23
    I think it can take up to about 5 GB...you could be in trouble there. Can you temporarily move some stuff off to an external drive?
     
  24. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #24
    You're lucky. My Powermac reached out and bitch slapped me after the update. :eek:
     
  25. Applespider macrumors G4

    Applespider

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
    #25
    Hmm.. now that's a whole other problem that could be contributing to your problem. That's the bare minimum to keep OS X happy or 10% of your HD
     

Share This Page