Any Astronomers Out There

Discussion in 'Community' started by Over Achiever, Aug 20, 2002.

1. Over Achiever macrumors 68000

Over Achiever

Yeah, I'm pre-med, but my major is astrophysics. I'll go to grad school if I'm not accepted into med school...

So are there any good astro programs out there? Starry Night Pro and XEphem sound nice...

Where do you do your research? Do you travel a lot to Chile, Hawaii, etc.?

2. Mr. Anderson Moderator emeritus

Mr. Anderson

I have starry night pro and absolutely love it. Space.com has the monthly interesting spots to see and being able to take your TiPB out at night, put it in Night Mode (red screen) is very cool. I've even managed to see MIR - right before it went down and the ISS becuase its in the data base.

I do know that you can have the software drive a telescope to point it at anything you want to see (provided the telescope has the correct drive and board) But I'm not sure if that will work with a mac.

If you plan on getting some type of software that you want to be compatible with a particular telescope, that would be your first choice. We had a couple large Celestrons shipped up to Alaska for work that were quite nice, and that's definitely a great place to use one. Unfortunately they were used for Ionospheric observations, but I did go out and get a chance to play around with them before they were shipped. And I forget the name of the software that we were using - it was pc only.

But why med school after Astrophysics?

D

3. Gus macrumors 65816

Gus

Red Screen?

Hello there!

I was curious about a comment in your post. You said when you switch to night mode, "red screen"? Are you being sarcastic? I've never heard of a Red screen option. What is this?

Gus

4. Durandal7 macrumors 68040

Well, I'm not an astronomer but I know quite a bit on the subject since my brother has a doctorate in astrophysics.