Any dial-up users willing to help me out?

Discussion in 'Community' started by hotwire132002, Oct 5, 2004.

  1. hotwire132002 macrumors 65816

    hotwire132002

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Location:
    Cadillac, MI
    #1
    OK, my latest insane plan:

    I'm going to start an ISP. I'm wondering, would any dial-up users be willing to switch ISPs? Just curious, call it a poll. If I can get ~20 users interested in switching, I may go ahead with the project.

    I'm not quite sure of pricing yet, but an connection with unlimited hours will be less than $20/month. Generally, I think a 200hr/month and 325hr/month will cost under $15, but again, I'm not sure of pricing. Does this look too high? I think the lowest I could go would be $15/month for unlimited and $10/month for limited, but that would really cut my profit low (>$1) on the connection.

    Tell me what you think--do the prices seem fair? Would anyone be interested?

    BTW--I'm working on broadband as well, but we'll see if that will work or not.
     
  2. musicpyrite macrumors 68000

    musicpyrite

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Cape Cod
    #2
    lol, if you don't mind me asking, how do you 'just start up' a dial up service? :confused:

    going on a tangent, I remember a few years a go the IT at our school needed to download some big file, so he used the schools 5+ phone lines to do it..... kinda funny if you ask me, but you had to be there to see it.
     
  3. hotwire132002 thread starter macrumors 65816

    hotwire132002

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Location:
    Cadillac, MI
    #3
    VISP--Virtual Internet Service Provider. :D

    Some company provides me with "wholesale" dial-up, and I resell it.

    I thought it would be neat to try out--as you've probably noticed by now, I'm always up to try something new.
     
  4. Archaeopteryx macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    #4
    where would service be available would be my main question...
     
  5. hotwire132002 thread starter macrumors 65816

    hotwire132002

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Location:
    Cadillac, MI
    #5
    20,000 numbers around the US and Canada.
     
  6. James L macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    #6
    Where I live in Canada I pay my ISP $24 canadian a month, and this gives me unlimited high speed ADSL, and 5 hours of 56K dial up per month.
     
  7. hotwire132002 thread starter macrumors 65816

    hotwire132002

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Location:
    Cadillac, MI
    #7
    Good deal.
     
  8. hotwire132002 thread starter macrumors 65816

    hotwire132002

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Location:
    Cadillac, MI
    #8
    OK, here's the dealio. I've set up "my" new ISP, the CoreSoft Multimedia Network. I went with something even simpler than a VISP--I'm basically outsourcing all the ISP stuff to another company, and I get a small profit if I get enough subscribers.

    Anyway--check it out. I have dial-up and DSL. Anyone willing to give it a shot, visit my home page for a link. (www.coresoftcomputers.com). Dial-up is $12.95/month, and DSL is $34.95/month for basic, $45.95/month for premium. Tell me how the service is when you try it out!
     
  9. Jovian9 macrumors 68000

    Jovian9

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Location:
    Planet Zebes
    #9
    I looked at this....and I would try it but.......not available in my area.
     
  10. hotwire132002 thread starter macrumors 65816

    hotwire132002

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Location:
    Cadillac, MI
    #10
    Thanks for trying! If I could, I'd make it available in your area, but sadly, that's outside my control.

    Anyway, If some else is willing to give it a shot (if it's available for you) tell me how it goes!
     
  11. Archaeopteryx macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    #11
    56K is available in my area.. but If i got it it would be for DSL, wich wasnt available... I am going to move quite soon, if when i move you give DSL in that area ill definatley try it :p
     
  12. hotwire132002 thread starter macrumors 65816

    hotwire132002

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Location:
    Cadillac, MI
    #12
    Thanks. I'm the same way--I can get dial-up, but no DSL. I have cable here, so it's not a big deal, but all the same, it would be nice to have DSL in my area so I could refer my clients to my service. Oh well, most of them use dial-up anyway.

    If anyone is able to try out my service, tell me how it goes!
     

Share This Page