Any Good Installing Vista tales

Discussion in 'Apple, Inc and Tech Industry' started by DerChef, Feb 16, 2007.

  1. DerChef macrumors 6502

    DerChef

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    #1
    Ok here is my little story.

    I have a PC as well as this Powerbook. Its not cutting edge its a Dell Dimension with a P4 2.66 Ghz , 1 MB of Ram, brand new Nvidia Geforce graphics card and 200 Mb hard drive.

    Basically its not totally out of the ark yet.

    I joked with a family member no way would I buy Vista but maybe somebody would spend the money for me. This was not a hint but guess what I got gift wrapped today :D Windows Vista Home Premium Upgrade.

    After making sure to back up the drive with Drive Image 7 ;)

    In I blundered. Well guess what installation stopped almost immediately and it told me to uninstall

    Nero 6 reloaded, Drive Image 7, Diskeeper 8, and NOD32.

    Ok the first 3 are ulilities and a wee bit old fair enough but NOD32 was bang up to date :mad:

    Anyway a bit of add/remove programs fun I start again.

    I get more messages this time it would install BUT my Scanner Epson perfection 1250 had no vista drivers, my version of Java was incompatible and worst of all my fancy brand new graphics card with designed for VISTA on the box was not gaurenteed to work properly either :(

    Anyways ploughed ahead 2 hours later :eek: :rolleyes:

    OK desktop was pretty enough I had to admit, hey I might be able to whip this thing to my liking. However when I started to really use it.

    external cardreader on my Epson Stylus 915 , no driver no workey :mad:

    Steganos Safe hung when closing a drive :mad:

    Palm desktop did the same at end of a sync :mad:

    Vista search did not seem to want to search mail or contacts in my version of Outlook 2002. Ok its not the latest version but google search and Yahoo desktop search both managed it fine :mad:

    Basically If I want to run Vista I will have to fork out a forture on new software and maybe new hardware also.

    Typing this as something to do as Drive Image sends Vista to the land of Wind and Ghosts.
     
  2. acearchie macrumors 68040

    acearchie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
  3. Mac-Addict macrumors 65816

    Mac-Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #3
    200mb wow..
     
  4. DerChef thread starter macrumors 6502

    DerChef

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    #4
    :p maybe not so cutting edge, replace m for g ;)
     
  5. Mac-Addict macrumors 65816

    Mac-Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #5
    Heh my mum wanted me to try and install vista home basic or whatever on a 256mb RAM 800mhz CD Rewriteable 6 year old pile of poop, and when she didnt beleive it wasn't anywhere near the required specs she asked a PC world employee and was shocked at what she found. She shall be buying a Mac Mini come Leopard-Sweetness-Spring-Time.
     
  6. bigandy macrumors G3

    bigandy

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Location:
    Murka
    #6
    After evaluating many options when it comes to Vista, I'd have to agree with this guy. He's found the best way to install it. :)
     
  7. Mac-Addict macrumors 65816

    Mac-Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #7
    Purely seamless.
     
  8. mac-convert macrumors 6502a

    mac-convert

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Location:
    Are we there yet?
    #8
    My story - I didn't and I won't. I haven't even turned on my XP system for about a month now - and very little since I converted to the Mac.

    I suppose I should devote some time to downloading all the ms security patches, just in case!
     
  9. dllavaneras macrumors 68000

    dllavaneras

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Location:
    Caracas, Venezuela
    #9
    What amazes me is this: :p

     
  10. quik macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Location:
    Montreal (Canada)
    #10
    Got no problem with my Vista computer.

    And YES, Palm desktop works perfect.
     
  11. DerChef thread starter macrumors 6502

    DerChef

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    #11
    I saw this as a guys sig on another forum

    I am running Windows Vista Ultimate on a Sinclair ZX Spectrum , it takes me 200 hours to boot it from 100 C120 Tapes , oh no the RAM pack has just wobbled again

    :apple:
     
  12. inmotion macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Location:
    Toronto
    #12
    what can i say.
    as much as i love my mac... i had to try the new vista.
    well with a combination of the latest parallel and a external usb 2.0 hdd vista was up and running just as it was suppose to be
    which is why,
    i am back on the mac

    "do you authorize this post? accept or deny?"
     
  13. ejb190 macrumors 65816

    ejb190

    #13
    Funniest thing I have read in a LOOOOONG time!!!
     
  14. gkarris macrumors 604

    gkarris

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Location:
    "No escape from Reality..."
    #14
    I would like to try it on my Atari 400. I think the baud rate on the cassettes are a bit faster - maybe only 87 tapes? Ideas anyone???
    :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page