Any kismac users?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Rick Friele, May 7, 2004.

  1. Rick Friele macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Henderson, NV
    #1
    Anyone here use kismac? Do you use a GPS device in conjunction with it? Looking into a cheap USB GPS device that will work with kismac.
     
  2. abhishekit macrumors 65816

    abhishekit

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Location:
    akron , ohio
    #2
    i have kismac, but i dont have a gps device, even I was thinking of buying one. i looked at the ones from Garmin.you can check it out. but kismac wdnt work in passive mode with AE, so eventually i decided against it..
     
  3. Rick Friele thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Henderson, NV
    #3
    I just have the basic airport card (B).
     
  4. Stevp1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    #4
    Does anyone know if Kismac will work with the built-in airport stuff on the PB's? I loaded it, and the driver that I understood to be the correct one, but it won't even see my wifi network at home, let alone any others in the area. It also seems to have affected Macstumbler, as that used to see my network, but now neither will. Any suggestions?
     
  5. Rick Friele thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Henderson, NV
    #5
    It will work with the Apple Extreme cards, but only in Active mode. If you want to run in Passive mode you need either an external card or a regular Airport card. As far as conflicting with MacStumbler I am not sure. I prefer kismac over MacStumbler. It sees my network as <hidden ssid>. MacStumbler can't see hidden networks from what I understand unless that has changed in a newer version.
     
  6. aswitcher macrumors 603

    aswitcher

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Location:
    Canberra OZ
    #6
    Do you use kismac with a card in your powerbook? If so what card? and can you run your AE whilst running the card in passive mode?
     
  7. Rick Friele thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Henderson, NV
    #7
    I have an iBook with a regular airport (not extreme) card. Basically kismac unloads Apple's airport driver and loads their own. I can't use my airport while it's in passive mode. I don't really need to anyway because I am just driving around anyway. To load the default driver back I just log out and back in.

    Still looking for some people who use kismac with a GPS device.
     
  8. Calvinatir macrumors 6502

    Calvinatir

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2003
    Location:
    LA
    #8
    any reason why when im using KisMac i never pick up any packets? Its bothering me. Just seing if you guys had this problem as well...
     
  9. tomf87 macrumors 65816

    tomf87

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    #9
    If you are using an Airport Extreme card, you must use Active mode, which means you won't be able to pick up packets.

    The original Airport cards can be used in passive mode, which means they are in promiscuous mode, and can capture packets.
     
  10. Earendil macrumors 68000

    Earendil

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Location:
    Washington
    #10
    Is this because there is no software support in KisMac, or a fundamental difference in the design of the AE card?

    Tyler
    Earendil - AE User...
     
  11. abhishekit macrumors 65816

    abhishekit

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Location:
    akron , ohio
    #11
    Its because AE doesn't support monitor mode.
     
  12. sandmann41 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Location:
    Frederick, Md
    #12
    Are there any usb wireless cards that will work with a PB in passive mode?
     
  13. Horrortaxi macrumors 68020

    Horrortaxi

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #13
    I've tried Kismac. It has some great features, but since I don't have GPS and I have an AirPort card it's kind of useless.
     
  14. xalex1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    #14
    Airport

    Same here, i got PB with airport extreme, and cant see anythig at home, It might be because ther isnt any networks around. , whats the diffrenece between passive mode and active mode ? O and what is the gps used for here ? Is there any other program that will work with airport extreme ?
     
  15. titaniumducky macrumors 6502a

    titaniumducky

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2003
    #15
    I tried it once to see how hard it was to break into a network with a WEP key. I was pleased to find that it wasn't easy enough for anyone to bother to break into my network. I know it could be done, but it's very unlikely that, for the trouble, someone wouldn't opt for one of the nearby open networks.
     
  16. Koodauw macrumors 68040

    Koodauw

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Location:
    Madison
    #16
    Titaniumducky, were you able to crack the WEP encryption? If so what software did you use to crack it? OR does anyone know of any programs that run in OSX?
     
  17. titaniumducky macrumors 6502a

    titaniumducky

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2003
    #17
    I tried using kisMAC. I collected a bunch of packets, saved them, and had it run the cracker. However, I failed for a while due to kisMAC crashing. Then I got it working but found out it would take a ridiculously long amount of time. That was why I decided no one would be likely to bother to break into my network when other networks of the same speed exist nearby and are open.
     

Share This Page