Any need for more than 1GB of RAM?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Xander562, Apr 29, 2006.

  1. Xander562 macrumors 68000

    Xander562

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    #1
    Hello, i am thinking about buying a 17" MBP in August-ish. i am wondering if there is any reason to have more than 1GB of memory. I am probably going to be doing some gaming now that we have Boot Camp. if anyone has used both 1GB and something higher, please tell me your experiences. was it worth it? cost is probably not going to be an issue, but i dont want to waste on something i will not notice.
     
  2. calebjohnston macrumors 68000

    calebjohnston

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    #2
    What games are we talking about? 1GB of RAM should be okay for most cases, but more will definetely not hurt at all.
     
  3. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #3
    If cost isn't an issue, I don't believe it is possible to waste money when buying RAM. :)
     
  4. Heb1228 macrumors 68020

    Heb1228

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    #4
    I went from 1GB to 1.5GB about 6 months ago. The difference was noticeable. Especially if you keep several programs open all the time.
     
  5. Xander562 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Xander562

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    #5
    I usually do keep more programs open at the same time, games would include things along the the lines of BF2 HL2 etc.
     
  6. Artful Dodger macrumors 68020

    Artful Dodger

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Location:
    In a false sense of reality...My Mind!
    #6
    Well it depends what you are doing and the apps. your using. I have 2GB RAM in my iMac (CoreDuo) because I use Flash 8 and some other apps. at the same time. Flash states that if you use more than one app open at a time you need about 1GB RAM for each app. such as Flash and DreamWeaver really needs 1.5-2GB to run smooth going back and forth.
    Now if heavy apps. aren't your thing you still will find 2GB much nicer when doing several things i.e. Safari, running iTunes, iChat open, a Word Doc. open,and using a few things from Dashboard. If you can afford it max out the RAM via third party and never wonder what if.
     
  7. Xander562 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Xander562

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    #7
    i've heard its relatively simple to upgrade w/ 3rd party ram in a iMac, what about a MBP? has anyone done this?
     
  8. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #8
    I haven't, but I'm sure it's easy.

    Remove battery, remove RAM cover, pop-in new RAM, replace cover & battery.
     
  9. FF_productions macrumors 68030

    FF_productions

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    Mt. Prospect, Illinois
    #9
    With 1 GB of ram in my iMac G5, things run pretty smooth, even when I'm running heavy apps, but I would rather have 2 gigs to give it a real boost and know that my machines fully maxed out (I just don't have the $$).
     
  10. Artful Dodger macrumors 68020

    Artful Dodger

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Location:
    In a false sense of reality...My Mind!
    #10
    Well if it's like the iBook then it's easy (iBook takes 5 mins.) just lift the KB off and undo two screws, lift Airport Card out, push in RAM, put everything back and turn back on. Not sure if it's the same on the MBP but it should be just as easy ;)
     
  11. obrien234 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Location:
    Brighton, MI
    #11
    If the MBP is the same as the last gen of PB, then it takes no time at all (if you have the right size screwdriver). There's a panel on the bottom of the MBP that you just need to unscrew (4 screws), and thats where the RAM slot is, just pop it in and go. It's a size 00 philips screwdriver, so its not a common accessory unless you usually do take apart computers. I believe the manual goes through this whole process.
     
  12. odedia macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    #12
    Get as much as possible.

    I honestly think RAM is more important than processor speed in day-to-day tasks.

    Oded S.
     
  13. BlizzardBomb macrumors 68030

    BlizzardBomb

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Location:
    England
    #13
    Normally, I'd say 1GB of RAM is enough for 80% of people. But with these new Intel Macs, there's always the possibility that you'll need to run something under Rosetta, so try to get as much as possible.
     
  14. dextertangocci macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    #14
    It's a lot more efficiant to match your RAM, eg, if your computer has 512MB built onto the logic board, and it has 1 extra slot, it would be more efficiant to add an extra 512MB, rather than 1GB, or if you have 2 slots, it is better to put in 2 chips of the same speed and size, and prefferably make, but it won't harm your computer if you don't. Also, be careful of buying "no name" RAM, it's better to spend those extra couple of bucks and make sure you get RAM that works, and doesn't damage your computer.;)
     
  15. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #15
    It is more efficient, but not a lot more efficient, to use matched RAM for Dual Channel Access in intel Macs (other than PowerMac G5 towers, only the intel Macs offer Dual Channel capability.) For most people, 1.5 Gb unmatched will give better performance (due to the extra 512 Mb RAM) than 1.0 Gb with matched 512s.

    This is because the benefits of matching only hold as long as you keep your total application and data usage under 1 Gb -- as soon as you hit the swap file on the hard disk, then your speed advantage is wasted. As mentioned in this thread, if you open more than a couple of programs, or use Rosetta to run OSX programs, or use Photoshop, digital audio or digital video applications, you'll breake the 1 Gb barrier almost immediately.
     
  16. QCassidy352 macrumors G3

    QCassidy352

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #16
    Gotta disagree here. I have 1.5 GB in my ibook G4, and I have never seen much more than 512 be used at one time. Counting inactive memory I've used over a GB, but that's RAM that could be reclaimed if needed. In terms of RAM actually in use at once, I've never even come close to hitting 1 GB.

    I'm a light user, I admit, but not a newbie. I might be running iphoto, itunes, Word, mail, and firefox at once, along with about 11 widgets.

    Using menumeters has really opened my eyes; although I max out the processor on a pretty regular basis, I never touch a lot of my RAM.
     
  17. NEENAHBOY macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    Location:
    Arlington, VA
    #17
    +1

    My PowerBook G4 has 1.5GB RAM, and I still get pageouts. I'd max out the RAM in a second if I weren't planning on getting an Intel desktop later this year.
     
  18. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #18
    Um, it would seem that you are disagreeing with dexter, not agreeing.

    dexter says get 1 Gb total RAM matched instead of 1.5 Gb total RAM unmatched

    But your pageouts are not related to dual-channel or not, they are only dependant on the total RAM, which your apps are exceeding. And your G4 Powerbook doesnt do Dual Channel anyway...

    No argument that 2 Gb is better than 1.5 ;)
     
  19. bobber205 macrumors 68020

    bobber205

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon
    #19
    I still can't believe I'm planning on doing that to a 2000 dollar computer.
    :eek:
     

Share This Page