Any one impressed with G5 photoshop update

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by PowermacG5, Oct 25, 2003.

  1. PowermacG5 macrumors regular

    PowermacG5

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    #1
    I dont see any diffrence... Everything is the same speed
     
  2. Schiffi macrumors 6502a

    Schiffi

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Location:
    Missouri
    #2
    Nah, Photoshop is photoshop. I see more benefit from a 64-bit processor with Compiling and Video/3D work. Eventually games will require 64-bit processors but like always Apple is a few years ahead of most vendors.
     
  3. PowermacG5 thread starter macrumors regular

    PowermacG5

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    #3
    Where does apple get their numbers

    Where are these numbers comming from? 75% to 200% faster? There taking us for a ride!!! I like apple products but, they need to be a little bit more honest.
     
  4. Laslo Panaflex macrumors 65816

    Laslo Panaflex

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Location:
    Tokyo
    #4
    How mcuh ram do you have. I have 1.5 gigs in my dualie G5, and I deffinately noticed the difference.
     
  5. PowermacG5 thread starter macrumors regular

    PowermacG5

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    #5
    ram

    I have the default....512

    this bring out anouther question when it says i have 512 does than just mean i have 256 on each processor? if so i need more becuase if im playing medal of honor and its only using one processor. I only have 256 ram when im playing?
     
  6. Laslo Panaflex macrumors 65816

    Laslo Panaflex

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Location:
    Tokyo
    #6
    i had the default 512, and then got a gig and noticed a HUGE difference. i don't know if this has to do with the photoshop update or ram (probably ram) but it is real fast. Can't wait for PS CS.

    I don't know about the ram allocation on the Dual G5, but I would assume that it uses all the ram. But I have no idea. All I know is that I love my G5 and can't compute on anything but it.
     
  7. PowermacG5 thread starter macrumors regular

    PowermacG5

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    #7
    what speed ram do you need for the G5 3700????

    where did you buy it

    how much did you pay
     
  8. Laslo Panaflex macrumors 65816

    Laslo Panaflex

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Location:
    Tokyo
    #8
    Bought my ram at crucial. I just looked and you can get a 512 meg stick for 87 bucks. Of course you have to add 2 so roughly $170 for gig is a great investment in my opinion.
     
  9. PowermacG5 thread starter macrumors regular

    PowermacG5

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    #9
    yeah i just bought an 20 gig ipod and i dont have a job

    Ill going to wait for panther to see how much faster it is
     

Share This Page