Any pool players here?

Discussion in 'Community' started by 5300cs, Apr 2, 2005.

1. 5300cs macrumors 68000

5300cs

Is anyone here a pool shark? :)

I've been playing for about 8 years now (if not more) and I love the game. Playing in Japan is different than playing in the States. For one, almost no one knows how to play 8 ball. :eek: Don't even THINK about straight pool :rolleyes: No, the game of choice over here is 9 ball (which I don't really like.) Pool halls are pretty cool though. After people are done on their table, the staff comes and wipes them down (the table AND the rails) then polishes the balls and puts them in the tray in NUMERICAL ORDER :eek: :D Gotta love it. One thing I don't like is the absence of carpeting in most places, which makes it louder and when someone drops a cue it wakes up the whole neighborhood.

Getting to the point though :rolleyes: I cannot seem to do draw shots anymore. Follow (top) I have no problem with, and English I have no trouble with, but I cannot do draw shots to save my life. I've tried different bridges (open & closed) and different cue heights on the ball, but even when I follow through the cue ball either stops dead or rolls back 2 inches then stops.

Any pros out there want to give me some tips? :)

2. BakedBeans macrumors 68040

BakedBeans

straight and firm through the bottom of the ball, dont snatch at!

its the easiest thing in the world :)

3. 5300cs thread starter macrumors 68000

5300cs

Come on, only 2 people shoot stick on this whole board??? :confused:

4. groovebuster macrumors 65816

groovebuster

I used to play pool every weekend a few years ago...

But then with kids I just didn't find the time anymore. Last year I was just trying again an evening I was meeting with a friend in a pub. Man, I suck now!!!! :(

Didn't play again since then... it's too depressing...

groovebuster

5. krimson macrumors 65816

krimson

Democratic People's Republic of Kalifornia