Any Quad Powermac Folders?

Discussion in 'Distributed Computing' started by lssmit02, Oct 22, 2005.

  1. lssmit02 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    #1
    It goes without saying (and hence, had to be said :rolleyes: ) that as soon as someone starts folding with a quad processor Powermac, we wanna know! Oh, and mc68k will have to write a new script, too.
     
  2. Dreadnought macrumors 68020

    Dreadnought

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Almere, The Netherlands
    #2
    Amen to that! I wonder, the new dual duallies (or dual quads), do they have two or four (four or eight for the quads) WU's at a time? Or can one duallie do one WU and are both processors on one chip working on the same WU?
     
  3. dubbz macrumors 68020

    dubbz

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    Alta, Norway
    #3
    1 WU per core. The folding app isn't SMP aware in any way. That it's dual core doesn't change anything.

    4 WU at the same time (for the Quad) isn't so bad though.
     
  4. Dreadnought macrumors 68020

    Dreadnought

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Almere, The Netherlands
    #4
    But it has eight cores, and folding doesn't support multiprocessing for one WU, because it uses its outcomes of the previous processor cycle for new input. So I wonder... BTW, I really want to know how fast it goes through a tinker if it does uses both cores for a WU.
     
  5. chucknorris macrumors 6502a

    chucknorris

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Location:
    Moscow, ID (No Kremlin here!)
    #5
    Umm....sorry to rain on your parade, but it DOESN'T have 8 cores.

    I know the whole "quad processor" business is confusing, but it's just two dual-core processors.

    Four would be absolutely ridiculous, and ridiculously expensive.
     
  6. Dreadnought macrumors 68020

    Dreadnought

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Almere, The Netherlands
    #6
    Right, just checked with the Apple site, and its time I get a cup of coffee here on this sunday morning. I thought Apple had released a 4 processor with each a dual core powermac.... I'm gonna get a cup of coffee now.
     
  7. cr2sh macrumors 68030

    cr2sh

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Location:
    downtown
    #7
    Octa-Macs next Tuesday! ;)
     
  8. Studawg7 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Location:
    Cville, VA
    #8
    couldnt you just run 4 instances of the program? the os should handle the work load and distribute each instance to a single core right? let me know if im wrong on this.
     
  9. Dreadnought macrumors 68020

    Dreadnought

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Almere, The Netherlands
    #9
    unfortunately the app doesn't work like that, or you would have to know where to place everything and how to rename it, else the two instances of folding would have a conflict with each other. Therefore mc68k made his own app for the duallies (which works still great!).
     
  10. kwajo.com macrumors 6502a

    kwajo.com

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    Bay of Fundy
    #10
    couldn't you just use InCrease and tell it to run 4 FAH cores at the same time, and one would go to each core? I use the app with my dualie ad tell it to run 2 and it puts one to each processor just fine
     
  11. mc68k macrumors 68000

    mc68k

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    #11
    i'll be happy to write some more scripts when the need arises
     
  12. Dreadnought macrumors 68020

    Dreadnought

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Almere, The Netherlands
    #12
    I wonder if your script, or stanford's apps for that matter, will run native with the new Intel dual core procs.
     
  13. dubbz macrumors 68020

    dubbz

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    Alta, Norway
    #13
    I suspect the apps won't... and even if they could run with Rosetta, they'd certainly be dead slow.

    (But obviously I can't know for sure, since I don't have an Intel Mac).
     
  14. Sunrunner macrumors 6502a

    Sunrunner

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    #14

    Perhaps sometime around 2012, lol
     
  15. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #15
  16. mc68k macrumors 68000

    mc68k

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    #16
    my scripts are not compiled, so they should run perfectly (with all variables being the same). the PPC apps on the other hand, will not work. they already have x86 apps for PCs, so it shouldnt be that hard to port a mac app. i bet the folding community boards have some info on the x86 mac platform

    i could always go to the apple store and find out for sure :)
     
  17. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
  18. meeble macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2003
    #18
    Try 2006. its already been done, although apple hasn't released a machine with 8 cores.
     

Share This Page