Any reason a 400GB SATA drive wouldn't work in an iMac G5?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by edesignuk, Oct 21, 2004.

  1. Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #1
    Well, I was thinking about getting an external 250GB drive, but now I've just seen this IBM/Hitachi 400GB SATA drive, and am thinking maybe this is a better route.

    Is there any reason an iMac G5 wouldn't be able to use (or "see") a 400GB drive? I wanna put the 400GB in to replace the stock 160GB, and put the 160GB in an external enclosure.
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
  3. thread starter Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #3
    I couldn't see any reason why it wouldn't, just wanted to hear it from someone else :)
     
  4. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    #4
    I was just finishing installing Maxtor DiamondMax 10 300Gb drive in my iMac and it works perfectly.
    If the drive is not mac formatted when installed you have to format it with the disk utility and then restart before you can install the system.
     
  5. macrumors 68000

    Sharewaredemon

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Location:
    Pitch forking mulch in Nova Scotia, Canada
    #5
    I guess the new iMac IS more expandable than the previous versions, can you imagine doing this on the desk lamp iMac,

    hey edesing, you thinking that the 160 hard drive had anything to do with you problems in iTunes??

    it's b0rkeD!
    :)
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    ChrisFromCanada

    Joined:
    May 3, 2004
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario (CANADA)
    #6
    I know I would personally prefer 160 Gigs internal for all system files games and programs and 400 External for all movies and pictures.
     
  7. macrumors 68000

    Sharewaredemon

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Location:
    Pitch forking mulch in Nova Scotia, Canada
    #7
    Chris, in your sig, it says sony pc150,
    do you mean pd150?
    because i did a quick google and didn't find the pc150, but i am familiar with the pd150
     
  8. thread starter Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #8
    Na, the b0rked iTunes was an OS X thing, since the archive install everything is fine :)

    It was a mess though! :eek:

    [​IMG]

    Having 400GB in an all-in-one like an iMac just sounds cool to me, but we'll see, I don't need it just yet anyway.
     
  9. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    #9
    Why not have 2 or 3 or 5 internal drives to save on desk space:eek:

    :( oh that's right, the imac only has room for one internal HDD:p.
     

Share This Page