Any rumors on the intel emac?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Wellander, Mar 24, 2006.

1. macrumors regular

Hi,
    I am just wondering if there any rumours about an intel based chip emac in the works?
    I work in a school type enviroment where we still can get the emacs but I want to know if it will ever be avaible in the intel form?
    Any ideas will be good.
    Thanks.

2. macrumors 65816

topgunn

I think the eMac is gone forever. It will be missed.

3. macrumors 68000

student_trap

id have to say no, you'd have to look at the mini for your intel needs

4. macrumors 68000

technicolor

They still sell them in the education stores.

But yeah I doubt they go intel.

5. macrumors 68000

student_trap

really, i can't seem to find them

maybe they're just in the US store?

6. macrumors G3

iMeowbot

They would be more likely roll out a minimalist iMac than refresh the eMac. CRTs are liabilities now that governments are getting serious about lead. They could pop in a lesser Yonah, drop the ATI graphics, and so on to bring the price down.
    They only offer them to the institutions, not individuals.

7. macrumors 6502a

I have always found this weird, but the latest emacs are never shown for sale or advertised.

They are the standard iMac G5, but with no camera, no CD-ROM and slower processors.

I'm guessing they are made to special order.

8. macrumors 68000

student_trap

thanks for clearing that up:)

9. macrumors demi-god

Spanky Deluxe