Any social sciences researchers/students here?

Discussion in 'Community' started by alxths, May 29, 2004.

1. alxths macrumors 6502

I've been taking a course on statistics and psychological research where we've been using a statistical program called SPSS(or maybe SSPS, hm) to organize data. The program is for windows, needless to say; and it just occured to me for the first time, that relying on a mac might be a future hurdle for me as I intend to pursue graduate studies in psychology.. Does anyone know if SPSS is standard throughout all universities, if it's available for mac, if not then what is, etc.

Anyone here have similar problems using a mac in your field?

2. Neserk macrumors 6502a

Neserk

I graduated 12 years ago :eek: with my BA in psychology. We had to do all of our statistics by hand. So I can't really comment. But my guess is that in the future you will need a PC along with your MAC in order to function outside your home. No matter how much better MACs may be the PC's will still dominate simply because of competition.

3. yoda13 macrumors 65816

yoda13

I ran SPSS using Virtual PC simply because the course came with the program for Windows in my grad. class. However, I was going to buy the Mac version before I found that out, so it is available and according to my prof. was better than the windows version.

The psyc program at my uni uses all macs, so I really don't think that it will be a problem for you.

4. alxths thread starter macrumors 6502

Really, hm.. I was under the impression that any academic research area would be completely dominated by PCs.. Verrrrrrry interesting, verrry interesting indeed..

5. russed macrumors 68000

russed

im about to start using it this week for my politics research module, what is spss? is it like excel? it means i will have to use a uni computer and work on win 2000, shock horror

6. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

mkrishnan