Any way for itunes match to replace ID3 tags?

Discussion in 'Apple Music, iCloud and Apple Services' started by farmermac, Nov 14, 2011.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Location:
    Iowa
    #1
    Some of my MP3s have lots of missing album info, year, etc. I am signed up with itunes match but it doesnt seem to update the id3 tag of the songs. Any way to force it to redownload the whole track?
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    #2
    This would be good if they offered it as an option but not force it. I also have a few files without info.
     
  3. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    #3
    This is the main reason why I was looking forward to iTunes Match, so I'm fairly disappointed. I have a ton of music from before tagging music became standard, and I was really looking forward to having it finally organized...
     
  4. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    #4
    Me too. I have incomplete and incorrect ID3 tags I'd like to see fixed. Fingers crossed that there's a way.
     
  5. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    #5
    I'd love this, too. I'm positive iTunes has better metadata than I do in a lot of cases, and I'd happily throw out all my metadata, get Apple's, and then apply any tweaks after that.
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    #6
    https://twitter.com/#!/tapbot_paul/status/138269351643070464

    This is a ruby script to do what is being asked. I can't quite get it to work though. I believe it is because I'm not using the default locations or library. I have 3 different libraries on my machine, but I'm not sure if that actually has any effect on it...

    Any ideas?
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #7
    How exactly do you execute this script?
     
  8. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    #8

    I posted a link earlier. scratch that it doesn't help..
     
  9. macrumors demi-god

    Mr. Zarniwoop

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    #9
    Thank for you pointing me to this, it's fantastic. The author tweeted a faster new version that uses the metadata from all of the iTunes Stores (not just US) and the instructions are at the front of the script:

    I bolded the commands to type in Terminal. Do that, and then have iTunes closed and run the script. It updates the track name, album name, artist name, track number, number of tracks, genre name, disc number and disc count with the metadata from the matched song in the iTunes Music Store.
     
  10. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    #10
    This script only works for a mac correct? I purchased the itunes match last to use with my ipad and I've been going through trying to get my files as accurate as possible before downloading them on my macbook air for accuracy. So basically my question is if I wait until I get my macbook air it'll be much easier and quicker than doing it manually? This is very encouraging to say the least.
     
  11. macrumors demi-god

    Mr. Zarniwoop

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    #11
    For those curious, results from the script on my iTunes library are below. I don't think I have a particularly international collection, and was a bit surprised at the number of songs not matched in the US store but to another one.

     
  12. macrumors demi-god

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Location:
    Virginia Beach
    #12
    Do you by chance have Xcode installed?

    Doing either of the bold sudo gem commands on my vanilla Lion install complains that it can't find header files, and googling that, it looks like one needs to install Xcode to get the headers.
     
  13. macrumors demi-god

    Mr. Zarniwoop

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    #13
    Yes, I would think Ruby is part of Xcode and not the base OS.

    Perhaps you can install Ruby otherwise?
     
  14. macrumors demi-god

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Location:
    Virginia Beach
    #14
    Wow, looks like Ruby has been part of the base OS since Tiger, from some of the pages I'm seeing.

    I don't mind installing Xcode to get the headers, I've actually been following along (at work) with the Sanford iOS development class that's in iTunes U. Been meaning to put Xcode on at home so I can dink around there too.

    Thanks for your help!
     
  15. macrumors demi-god

    Mr. Zarniwoop

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    #15
    Looking at the results... it did a few things that were interesting.

    • A handful of artist names are in Japanese (I fixed those up manually, there were only 3)
    • Some albums have been broken up, with some of the album names on the tracks named for the single version (I am ok with this, but I can see it not being desirable)
    • Around 20% of songs don't match up to anything in an iTunes Store, even where the store sells a (presumably slightly different) version of the song
     
  16. macrumors demi-god

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Location:
    Virginia Beach
    #16
    Here were my results (with the countries that 0 updates removed):

    Code:
    
    Reading 5412 tracks **************
    Found 1408 matched tracks
    Querying US store for 1408 tracks *************** 839 updated
    Querying GB store for 577 tracks ****** 102 updated
    Querying AU store for 475 tracks ***** 29 updated
    Querying FR store for 446 tracks ***** 23 updated
    Querying DE store for 423 tracks ***** 2 updated
    Querying CA store for 421 tracks ***** 4 updated
    Querying IT store for 417 tracks ***** 5 updated
    Querying AT store for 412 tracks ***** 1 updated
    Querying BE store for 411 tracks ***** 1 updated
    Querying CZ store for 410 tracks ***** 3 updated
    Querying DK store for 407 tracks ***** 1 updated
    Querying MX store for 406 tracks ***** 6 updated
    Querying NL store for 400 tracks **** 1 updated
    Couldn't find meatadata for 399 tracks
    
    For anyone curious, it appears to updates these iTunes fields:

    Name
    Album
    Artist
    Track Count
    Track Number
    Genre
    Disc Count
    Disc Number

    Other fields (comments, etc) are left alone.
     
  17. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    #17
    Thanks
     
  18. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    #18
  19. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #19
    I'm still confused about how to get this script to work. Can you please outline exactly what needs to be done?

    Also, does this do album art by chance? That's the least of my worries and the easiest to do myself but just wondering.
     
  20. macrumors demi-god

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Location:
    Virginia Beach
    #20
    I can tell you how it I did, although there may be an easier way.

    1. Download/install Xcode from the App Store. It's free, but it's big.
    2. After it's installed, go back up to post #9, and click on the link that goes to the author's tweet. In the tweet, click on the link that goes to the script. At the top right of the script, click the "Direct Link" link. This should download the script in your Downloads folder.
    3. Open the Terminal app on your Mac.
    4. Type: cd Downloads
    and press enter
    5. Go back up to post #9 and type the commands in the quote that Mr. Zarniwoop bolded.
     
  21. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #21
    Thanks, aristobrat. I've been wanting to try this out so I'm downloading Xcode now. Will report back on how it works out.
     
  22. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    #22
    This ruined my metadata. Use at your own risk, or you'll be renumbering tracks and changing albums for the next 4 hours like me.

    I appreciate the effort but man this hurts.
     
  23. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    #23
    Same here.

    It split up 320 albums. In one case, an album split into eight parts. Also the tracks renumbered.

    Make sure to backup first. I am in the process of using my backup to restore all of my music.

    This explains why Apple wisely chose not to tamper with metadata.

    We were warned and I don't regret trying.

    Philip
     
  24. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    #24
    Here is what I am getting. It says it times out and it isn't working for me for some reason. Last night I had only 1 song in my library that I ran it on and it worked right away and updated the song. Now it isn't working at all for me. Any suggestions on what I could be doing wrong or what is stopping it from working?

    thanks for your help in advance
     
  25. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    #25
    Any way to do this on windows yet? Would love to have all my tracks fully tagged.
     

Share This Page