Any wireless router or Apple product only?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by SolidGun, Jul 28, 2004.

  1. SolidGun macrumors 6502

    SolidGun

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Location:
    Twin Cities
    #1
    I am looking to purchase a wireless router and strongly considering Netgear WGT624.
    From what I have read, most routers are compatible with Airport Exress card in recent PBs. Anyone that uses wireless networking, could you share your experience on your wireless routers?
    Should I pay extra for the Apple Airport Extreme? Is it better than others?
     
  2. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #2
    At home I have a G4 Desktop, a PB w/ Airport Extreme, and an iBook with Airport. I have a NetGear WG614. It works like a charm. If you have an 802.11b & 802.11g device on the same WiFi network, the WiFi will only work as fast as the slowest link (802.11b).
     
  3. discomonkey macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    #3
    i've got an old d-link 514 (b network) at home that works perfectly fine. solid connection.
     
  4. SolidGun thread starter macrumors 6502

    SolidGun

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Location:
    Twin Cities
    #4
    Thank you for the reassurance, I think I will go ahead and order it.
    If anyone else is interested in one, there is one for sale at Buy.com for $69.89 but if you search you will find $25 rebate coupon(the one listed on site is for only $20). Just FYI.
     
  5. jackieonasses macrumors 6502a

    jackieonasses

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Location:
    the great OKLAHOMA....
    #5
    I have a question then to keep this thread alive.

    Why is the airport so much? I like it (and want to stick with apple) but the Airport Extreme cost aton!
     
  6. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #6
    Limited marketability? Same reason that Macs "appear*" to cost so much more then a WinTelThon? Automagical configuration?


    * I say appear because a suitable loaded WinTelThon can cost just as much.
     
  7. HardHatMac9 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2004
    #7
    Disagree

    Just a heads up: This router works poorly with my Airport Extreme (internal) card in my brand new Powerbook G5. I have heard the same thing from a couple other individuals.
     
  8. Crikey macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Location:
    Spencer's Butte, Oregon
    #8
    Whoa! Was there a hardware release yesterday (Tuesday) that I didn't hear about? ;-)

    I set up a DI-514 for a friend who has a TiBook, and it works okay from what I hear.


    Crikey
     

Share This Page