Anybody used a Radeon 9600 and upgraded to a 9800 SE for WoW?

Discussion in 'Games' started by Chrispy, Jun 2, 2005.

  1. Chrispy macrumors 68020

    Chrispy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Location:
    Avon, IN
    #1
    Hey all. The title says it all. I currently have a DP 2.0GHz G5 PM and it has the stock 128MB Radeon 9600 in it. I play a lot of WoW in windowed mode on a Dell 2005FPW. I keep the game running in a window that takes up about 2/3 of the screen and my framerate is not so good. Even when I'm out in the middle of nowhere with nothing going on the framerate is at around 25-27FPS.

    I have all the graphics settings turned down and I was curious if anyone had played this game on a 9600 and upgraded to a 9800 Pro SE with 256MB video ram? If so did your framerate go up a lot. I would like to be able to run the game as I do now but getting at least a constant 30-35FPS with some graphics settings at least turned up half way. My system specs can be seen in my sig. Thanks!
     
  2. hvfsl macrumors 68000

    hvfsl

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2001
    Location:
    London, UK
    #2
    Well the R9800pro SE is almost 2x as fast as your current card, so you should see some improvement.
     
  3. G5isAlive macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    #3
    I did/do

    I have the same config as you (2.0 ghc DP, 2.0 GB Ram) and I am embarrassed to admit that yes, I recently upgraded my graphics to the 9800 specifically for WOW but I don't know how to measure frame rate so I can not answer your question. Subjectively it didn't knock me out of my chair with the improvement but of course I tell my wife it is much better.

    How do I measure frame rate? I will be glad to give you stats.
     
  4. Chrispy thread starter macrumors 68020

    Chrispy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Location:
    Avon, IN
    #4
    You hit Ctrl + R and it will show it at the bottom. I would love to know youre rate, resolution and settings. Thanks :)
     
  5. SurfAddict macrumors member

    SurfAddict

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    #5
    I haven't been playing WoW these past few months but if I remember right you just press Ctrl + R
     
  6. G5isAlive macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    #6
    specs

    okay... I don't do specs for a living so take these with a grain of salt.. but running a 2.0 ghz g5 dp with 2.0 mb ram and a 9800 256 mb pro 8x...

    outside of gadgetzan in tanaris.. (desert)

    in window mode

    standing 60 fps, spinning, 30 fps, moving 50 fps, fighting 43 fps.

    in full screen mode (1280 x 800 ) wide

    same conditions,

    73, 40, 55, 55 fps

    I can stay well above 30 even with everything on max.

    hope this helps
     
  7. Chrispy thread starter macrumors 68020

    Chrispy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Location:
    Avon, IN
    #7
    Thank you very much for the benchmark :) This will help me decide if I want to make the plunge and upgrade. Again, thank you very much!
     
  8. mj_1903 macrumors 6502a

    mj_1903

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #8
    I have found that more RAM and a faster hard drive make the biggest difference as much of the lag can be attributed to loading scenery or clothing items on characters.

    My 9600 stays flat at about 30fps though, no higher and only lower when loading scenery or against Ragnaros and his firespawns.
     
  9. Chrispy thread starter macrumors 68020

    Chrispy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Location:
    Avon, IN
    #9
    What settings do you have the game set at? Are you running at a widescreen resolution? My system that is being replaced had 1.5GB RAM and a 7200RPM Serial ATA Hard Drive and a 9600 so I was wondering if it was my resolution that was killing me. Thanks
     

Share This Page