Anyone bought the Pirates of the Caribbean films off the store?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by Xandros, Apr 2, 2012.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    #1
    I mean, if anyone has two or three of them (or indeed all four of them), how do they show up in your iTunes list and in your AppleTV? Are they in the order they were released or ordered alphabetically?
     
  2. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    #2
    Alphabetically. As with all movies.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    chenks

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    movies are listed alphabetically by default, unless the file has uses the "sort name" field to adjust the sorting - i don't believe itunes store content uses that to change the ordering of content.
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    khollister

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #4
    Bingo - just populate the Sort Name field in the metadata. For instance, for my Pirate movies (ripped from my blu-rays), I use a sort name of Pirate 1, Pirate 2, etc. to get the movies in chronological order. However the films still show in iTunes and on the ATV with the correct full name. I also did this for the Harry Potter films and Batman movies.
     
  5. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    #5
    I do the same thing but use the year released, so "harry potter 2001" the year released is usually in the metadata somewhere, and you don't have to figure the release order.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    #6
    OK thanks, I did wonder if I'd gone and buggered something up but if that is how they come out of the store then I'm down with that. I'll tag the sort name as suggested. Cheers.
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #7
    If you also put a series name in the TV Show field, it will list all 4 movies as 1 entry - like a TV show season - but in your movie list. The artwork for all the movies kind of flying by when you stop on it. Select the series, and you'll get a regular list in whatever order you have set.

    FWIW, I used "Pirates of the Caribbean" as the TV Show name, the sub-title as the movie name ("Dead Man's Chest" etc.) and Pirates 1, 2... as the sort names. Ditto for Star Wars and Austin Powers. For the Bourne movies, I called the series "The Bourne Trilogy" (remembering to drop the "The" in the TV Show sort name) and used the actual movie names. Same for Aliens and The Terminator series.

    This is a powerful trick, IMHO. I use it a lot and it really helps clean up your movie list on your ATV. HOWEVER, you do have to be comfortable that, for example, "Dead Man's Chest" will be titled as such, but appear under "P" for "Pirates 1" in your iTunes list. I don't watch content on my Mac, so it's not an issue for me.
     
  8. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    #8
    It could be worth mentioning that this is true for the ATV1, but not the ATV2 or the ATV3.
     
  9. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #9
    Thanks for the clarification. I have only ATV1s.

    So, is there not a way to do this on the 2 and 3? That sucks.
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    chenks

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    no, you cannot group movies together on the ATV2 or 3.
    i logged numerous "bug" reports regarding that via bugreport.apple.com and always got the response that it was a "known issue", but nothing was ever done about it.
     
  11. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    #11
    It sure does. It's like with TV shows, say you have all eight seasons of Entourage, then they show as eight entries (one per season) in the TV Shows list... I find neither of these two things logical, it's apparent that they CAN do it, so it must mean they WON'T do it. But why, Apple, WHY? ;)
     
  12. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Location:
    Canada
    #12
    ya no kidding, not a fan of all this

    My ideal way would be to click a TV series, and then have the seasons and episodes in order under there, not at the main screen.
     

Share This Page