Anyone else notice the *other* new feature?

Discussion in 'iPod' started by Kingsly, Sep 12, 2006.

  1. Kingsly macrumors 68040

    Kingsly

    #1
    I was scrolling down on my 5G 60GB to test gapless playback and found that if you scroll fast enough, a nice little window pops up telling me which letter Im on. This makes my life MUCH easier. :)
     
  2. kevinliu4 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    #2
    that was actually announced during steve's presentation.
     
  3. Verto macrumors 6502a

    Verto

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Location:
    Denton, TX
    #3
    w3rd.

    Haven't tried it yet though.
     
  4. Dino451 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
  5. Kingsly thread starter macrumors 68040

    Kingsly

    #5
    Oh. Haven't watched it yet... so yeah... :eek:
     
  6. wiseguy27 macrumors 6502

    wiseguy27

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    Sounds cool - I hope all the new features in the new iPods are available through the update for the existing 5G iPods as well. ;)
     
  7. Kingsly thread starter macrumors 68040

    Kingsly

    #7
    Im on a original 5G and got everything but the search function.
     
  8. dwishbone macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    On the Moon
    #8
    i noticed that today too. i was like wtf cool
    i havnt had a chance to watch the keynote yet so didnt know that was there. i was very pleased
     
  9. calculus Guest

    calculus

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    #9
    I'm not sure about this one - i am finding it distracting somehow.
     
  10. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #10
    I think it's a good thing. Although I'm somehow doubting it works on my third gen iPod. ;)

    And also I'm suspecting I'll get shot for pointing out that this was one of the little interface things the Zune gang at MS were touting? :D
     
  11. MattyMac macrumors 68000

    MattyMac

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Location:
    NJ/NYC
    #11
    Sweet!

    I thought that was only going to be on the newER 5G's.

    It's working on mine too!!!
     
  12. MattyMac macrumors 68000

    MattyMac

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Location:
    NJ/NYC
    #12
    I also notice I now have solitaire on my 5G.

    ...I don't think it was there before...was it?
     
  13. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #13
    it should have been. i thought it was standard.
     
  14. dextertangocci macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    #14
    Why?

    :confused:
     
  15. timnosenzo macrumors 6502a

    timnosenzo

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Location:
    ct, us
    #15
    mine too! that's a cool feature! :cool:
     
  16. Jedi128 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #16
    Does anyone else have a problem with their music being re-sorted on their iPod after using iTunes 7? The song order on all my albums are now fricked up. It has taken songs that I bought off of iTMS and put them first, then put the rest of the songs from that album in order (songs that I later added because I bought the album and imported it). What is with this? In the info tag it still says that the song is track 3 out of 11, or whatever, but it places it first. However this has not happened to my iTunes library... Is anyone experiencing the same thing?
     
  17. Kingsly thread starter macrumors 68040

    Kingsly

    #17
    ^^^
    Sure your iPod isn't on shuffle? There is no reason that should be happening otherwise.
    Hope you get it sorted out. :)

    They have to leave us with a reason to buy a 5 1/2G iPod!;) :rolleyes: :cool:
     
  18. abeyk macrumors regular

    abeyk

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Location:
    Houston, TX
  19. trenzterra macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    #19
    Just wondering, does this work on Unicode songs?
     
  20. Synapple macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Location:
    Rome, Italy
    #20
    Just wondering if you found a solution to that problem...
    I have the same annoying bug... after transferring the albums on the iPod the order of the songs gets all wrong... iTS songs first and then the rest... doesn't happen in iTunes...
    Any ideas? :confused:
     
  21. sockeatingdryer macrumors regular

    sockeatingdryer

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Location:
    Athens, GA, USA
    #21
    It messed up my Purchased playlist... it won't add anything to it that's been bought from the iTS... which really sort of pisses me off for some reason. Does this happen to anyone else?
     
  22. irregardless macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Location:
    all around you
    #22
    Check to make sure all songs have the same disk number. Or no disc number at all. I had a similar problem a while back. Turns out that some songs from the same album were tagged Disc 1 of 1 while others didn't have a disc number at all. iTunes would sort the 'no disc' songs first, then the rest. Maybe this behavior has carried over to the iPod.
     
  23. GFLPraxis macrumors 604

    GFLPraxis

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    #23
    I bought a 60 GB 5G iPod on the 14th (two days after the new models were released). Got a brilliant deal on it; they dropped the price from $400 to $300 because of the new $350 80 gig, then I got $180 off it from the Buy a New Mac Get a Free iPod deal.


    I updated to the latest iPod firmware, but I can't seem to get this feature to work, no matter how fast I spin the touch wheel.
     

Share This Page