Anyone else's iMac just stop?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by wizwaz3, Apr 2, 2007.

  1. wizwaz3 macrumors 6502a

    wizwaz3

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Location:
    Northern Arizona
    #1
    It's happened twice now, but sometimes my iMac will just stop being responsive. I can't figure out why. Anyone know? Anyone know how to prevent it?

    Thanx in advance!
     
  2. SMM macrumors 65816

    SMM

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Location:
    Tiger Mountain - WA State
    #2
    More information is required; start by explaining the events leading up to the 'stoppage'. Freeze-ups are very rare. That is more of a Windows concept.
     
  3. wizwaz3 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    wizwaz3

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Location:
    Northern Arizona
    #3
    The first time I had just started using my mac, so there wasn't much on it. I think I was running maybe safari and iTunes. This time I was using iTunes, Safari and Frostwire. I was listening to preview clips on iTunes and I went to listen to one and when I double clicked, nothing happened. I restarted it numerous times and even unplugged it. When I would start up, the mouse would move, and the dock would magnify, but I couldn't click anything. Strangely, I started trying different keys and the keyboard was able to do things. (Very few since I'm still learning mac) Could it be my mouse? It's a bluetooth MM. I would't think so since it could move around...
     
  4. Zwhaler macrumors 603

    Zwhaler

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    #4
    This can happen to me when I launch Google Earth with too many apps open. I need to set it to use less of my RAM...
     
  5. BilltheCat macrumors regular

    BilltheCat

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Location:
    Sanford FL
    #5

    Have you upgraded your ram? it is very inexpensive just now. Might help!
     
  6. maxrobertson macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    Location:
    Jakarta
    #6
    Yeah, that's a mouse problem.

    I wouldn't know how to fix it though.
     
  7. wizwaz3 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    wizwaz3

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Location:
    Northern Arizona
    #7
    Ok. Next time it happens, I'll see if pulling the batteries works. I'll post to let you know in case thats what does it for anyone else. :)
     

Share This Page