Anyone ever taken time off school?

Discussion in 'Community' started by iJon, Nov 8, 2004.

1. iJon macrumors 604

iJon

I ask this cause it crosses my mind from time to time. Technically I am in my third semester in college, first semester at a major University. Community college last year in my spare time. Basically I have f***ed up in a couple of classes. I probably wouldn't be so down if my excellent GPA from my past school contributed to my one now, but my University only transfers credits, not GPA. I have amounts of pressure put on me by my mom and it makes me feel worthless and depressed at times. I can't fight with her cause she has her masters and most of you all know of my parents business (Apple Reseller) which has been going strong for 19 years now.

I just feel I might not be ready for college yet. I really do enjoy going to class, learning new things, taking great notes but I always screw it up somewhere. I feel college should be something more than school and in my mind I don't know if I'm taking full advantage.

Back to my original question. I have lived in this damn town all 19 years of my life. Yes I have traveled parts of the world but I always wind back up in good ol' Arkansas. I have sold Macs for the past 5 years and I am pretty sick of, at least at my current business. I am tempted to just take some time off, move to a new city and get by on my own for a year or so. I know I won't have all the lavishes and benefits of being with my rich parents but I feel I will be happier knowing I can do this on my own. Getting a job, paying for a small apartment, paying for my own food and all the things in between. I feel after doing that I will feel more dependent on myself and maybe come back to go to school here or somewhere else and feel more prepared and look more forward to it.