Anyone got Fusion to run?

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by monkeybagel, Feb 16, 2012.

  1. monkeybagel
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    monkeybagel

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    United States
    #1
    Since this is a developer preview I expect things to not work and thats fine. But - just wondering if anyone has successfully run Fusion? Tried 4.1 and 4.1.1 and both refuse to run so far.
     
  2. monkeybagel
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 6502a

    monkeybagel

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    United States
    #2
    You can bypass the application block by launching Fusion from the terminal using the open command, but as figured it is blocked for a reason. I was hoping for partial functionality, but instead got a kernel panic! :eek:
     
  3. mikefla
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    #3
    I'm in the process of installing. I was going to create a new VM, install Lion and then from Lion do the upgrade to Mountain. Does this not work? I have Fusion 4.1.0 :) Never installed the killer update.

    -Mike
     
  4. monkeybagel
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 6502a

    monkeybagel

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    United States
    #4
    I have not tried installing it in a VM, but from what I read it kernel panics in a VM too. I just know Fusion will not run on ML. I also avoided 4.1.1 until today, but it will not run either.
     
  5. cis4life
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    #5
    MikeFla:
    Keep us posted if you were able to get it running by installing it onto a vm of Lion.

    I'm in the same position, on how to best install ML and keep my install of Lion intact.

    Thanks,
     
  6. maflynn
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #6
    How exactly are you able to start Fusion, I get the following error when trying to start it up from the terminal under ML
    LSOpenURLsWithRole() failed with error -10664
     
  7. tigres
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    tigres

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Location:
    Land of the Free-Waiting for Term Limits
    #7
    Maflynn. See if this helps, and report back if you would. I too cannot use it without fusion as I run windows all day for work. http://www.robservatory.com/?p=809
     
  8. maflynn
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #8
    Thanks, but that looks like its an issue using Mountain Lion inside vmware and specific to the vmwre tools, not running vmware fusion from ML
     
  9. tigres
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    tigres

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Location:
    Land of the Free-Waiting for Term Limits
    #9
    Oh you are correct, my bad sorry about that. :eek:
     
  10. maflynn
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #10
    No problem, I've been searching the net for a solution but I think we'll have to wait for VMware to release an updated build and to be honest given that 10.8 is only a Developer Preview I'm really not confident that we'll see one anytime soon.
     
  11. tigres
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    tigres

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Location:
    Land of the Free-Waiting for Term Limits
    #11
    If my recollection is correct 4 was not released until well after lion was released. They seem to be a little behind in supporting the final OS, and never really comment on status of future releases.

    Fwiw. I am on SL, so I was going to give it a run to test the networking environment, but i won't go through the hassle now knowing fusion won't run on it. Btw, I wonder why it won't run- seems like ML is kind of a service pack of sorts with added assets.
     
  12. maflynn
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #12
    They sometimes release builds to fix these types of issues. So far their forums have not provided any of that information.
     
  13. maflynn
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #13
  14. 87racer
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    87racer

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    Oregon
    #14

Share This Page