Anyone have Comcast Cable/Internet??

Discussion in 'Community' started by rtdgoldfish, Nov 29, 2004.

  1. rtdgoldfish macrumors 6502a

    rtdgoldfish

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    #1
    If you do and know of one, is there a phone number for customer support that will not direct you to your local office?? I called to get the bandwith increased on my cable modem and they charged me twice because they messed up something and don't know how to fix it. They tried to be helpful and take $11 off of my bill but that still means that I am paying $85 for a 4MBPS connection when it should be $55. Anyway, any help would be great!
     
  2. obeygiant macrumors 68040

    obeygiant

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Location:
    totally cool
  3. jared_kipe macrumors 68030

    jared_kipe

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle
    #3
    You get 4MB/S connection from them?!? They're ripping me off!
     
  4. realityisterror macrumors 65816

    realityisterror

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Location:
    Snellville, GA
    #4
    the "default" is 3mbps/256kbps... for $10 more a month, you get 4mbps/384kbps... they undervalue upload speed :rolleyes:

    reality
     
  5. blackpeter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    #5
    Question for Comcast customers... I understand that your speed can be up to 3mb/s, but what is your actual speed? I use www.dslreports.com. Thanks!
     
  6. Counterfit macrumors G3

    Counterfit

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    sitting on your shoulder
    #6
    Ha, Comcrap is screwing you all over :p

    *download and uploads happily on a $35/month 4mbit/512k line from Cox* :D
     
  7. obeygiant macrumors 68040

    obeygiant

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Location:
    totally cool
    #7
    Speed


    2.6 megabits per second
    Communications 2.6 megabits per second
    Storage 317.9 kilobytes per second
    1MB file download 3.2 seconds
    Subjective rating Great
     
  8. leftbanke7 macrumors 6502a

    leftbanke7

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Location:
    West Valley City, Utah
    #8
    I wish I had another option for cable internet but Comcast is the only game in town for the time being and I don't want DSL.
     
  9. scem0 macrumors 604

    scem0

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    back in NYC!
    #9
    What server?

    I got 750Kbps, 2Mbps, and everything in between depending on which server I used.

    scem0
     
  10. DanTekGeek macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #10
    i have comcast digital cable and 3mbit cable, i pay 80 bucks a month for both. i dont know what deal they have you on but you are getting ripped off. and yes, dsl reports shows me as 3mbits.
     
  11. wdlove macrumors P6

    wdlove

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2002
    #11
    I use Comcast, but only for basic Cable for $8.66 a month. The reception is poor on one of the channels, but at that price I can't complain. Sometimes when I squeeze on the cable itself the reception improves. It takes a strong hand.
     
  12. Cooknn macrumors 68020

    Cooknn

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    #12
    Comcast has me by the balls. I pay $150/month for Internet + HDTV + All Premium Pay + Hi-Def DVR. DSL Reports has me at 2406 Kbps Down 180 Kbps Up.

    I can't wait for HD DVD's to happen so I can drop all the useless premium channels and rent what I want to watch (in Hi-Def) from NetFlix...
     
  13. rtdgoldfish thread starter macrumors 6502a

    rtdgoldfish

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    #13
    888-COMCAST just redirects you to your local office, who seem to be complete idiots. Any other help would be great... And yes, I have a 4MBPS connection from them.
     
  14. Flowbee macrumors 68030

    Flowbee

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Location:
    Alameda, CA
    #14
    Comcast customer in the San Francisco Bay Area...

    3.016 mb/s Down
    234 kb/s Up

    Used the speakeasy server
     
  15. Chip NoVaMac macrumors G3

    Chip NoVaMac

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    #15
    I am paying the same for standard def from Cox, so don't complain :)

    HD will add about $40 to my bill, not to mention the cost of the HD set. :D
     
  16. applemacdude macrumors 68040

    applemacdude

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2001
    Location:
    Over The Rainbow
  17. StarbucksSam macrumors 65816

    StarbucksSam

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Location:
    Washington, D.C.
    #17
    I hate Comcast. They are simply TERRIBLE. Damn.
     
  18. obeygiant macrumors 68040

    obeygiant

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Location:
    totally cool
    #18
    you should just find your cable box and unscrew the filter. BAM - all channels.
     
  19. wdlove macrumors P6

    wdlove

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2002
    #19
    I don't use a cable box. Just directly from cable to TV. My understanding is that the filter is applied at my connection to their line.
     
  20. echeck macrumors 68000

    echeck

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Location:
    Boise, Idaho
    #20
    Everyone undervalues upload. I only have 1.5mb/s from my local cable provider, and only 256kb up. I would be willing to pay more for faster upload before I paied more for faster download...
     
  21. StarbucksSam macrumors 65816

    StarbucksSam

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Location:
    Washington, D.C.
    #21
    Wait, is there some like faster version of Comcast I can like... get?
     
  22. rtdgoldfish thread starter macrumors 6502a

    rtdgoldfish

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    #22
    For $10 more a month, they will upgrade you from 3MB to 4MB. I split the bill with my other two roommates so for an extra $3.33 a month, it is well worth it.
     
  23. jayscheuerle macrumors 68020

    jayscheuerle

    #23
    Just picked up my Comcast self-install kit last night and...

    I COULDN'T GET IT WORKING!! Tech guy coming out Monday. Something about the possibly needing to boost the signal. grr...
     
  24. gwuMACaddict macrumors 68040

    gwuMACaddict

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Location:
    washington dc
    #24

    i think we have a winner for best post of the year... :p

    care to maybe, i dont know, provide a REASON?

    i use comcast in dc, not the fastest, but we dont pay for it because one of my roommates works for them :D
     
  25. sgarringer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA
    #25
    You think thats good, I pay $88 and i got Digital Cable (with Starz and Encore) on two boxes, Local Telephone service with Caller ID and Call Waiting, and high speed internet. I'm paying for 256k/256k but apparently they neglected to switch my modem into the other pool on their uBR, so I'm getting my 3MB down and 386K up! Te he he!

    http://www.mcleodusa.com/ats

    My favorite thing that they offer is 7MB bidirectional fiber internet to your office for just around $2700 per month. You can get an entire class C subnet for only $100 additional, which means a 7MB connection for under 3k per month, which around here is a tremendous deal. (Not to mention it is just a simple ethernet connection, so comming off the pole they basically run their special cable and then convert that to ethernet on the side of your building)

    DataLink Prices

    I guess thats the advangate of them building out their own fiber to the curb network though, plenty of bandwidth to spare.
     

Share This Page