Anyone having problems with iTunes4 ??

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by uhlawboi80, Apr 28, 2003.

  1. uhlawboi80 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    houston
    #1
    well, like always, i got the update to quicktime and iTunes almost as soon as they were posted...wanted to see what was new and see the music store.

    NOW, i am studying and listening to iTunes, but its buggy. CDs i ripped yeterday are acting odd...well the MP3s that is. I have had MP3s skipping and bumpiing...and i am only running iTunes and iChat so system slowups shouldnt be that bad. ALSO i am noticing volume fluctuations in songs that were NOT there yesterday. They seem to be happening in similar or the same spot in certain tracks. I either notice the volume just drop for no reason mid song or in some instances its a constant ebbing and flowing of volume. Its subtle, but once i thought something was goofy i was relistening to tracks like 6 times and it keeps happening. Again, these are the exact tracks i listened to while studying last night and iTunes 3 didnt do this to the tracks at all! :mad:

    Anyone else having iTunes4 actin up??
     
  2. Pismo macrumors 6502

    Pismo

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Location:
    NH
    #2
    No problems here

    I downloaded and installed Quicktime 6.2 and iTunes 4 and haven't had any problems. The only thing that annoyed me a little was when I tried to click on some items in the Music Store and I would get a "405" error or something like that. The problem hasn't happened for a few hours so Apple fixed it I guess.
     
  3. uhlawboi80 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    houston
    #3
    well i have been further listening to my MP3 collection to see how broad or narrow the problem is. Seems that it only is affecting the 3 CDs i ripped yesterday from inside iTunes. Though, these are the only 3 CDs i have ripped in close to 6 months and they are 3 of onl 7 total ripped in iTunes. Not sure why they are doing this...seeing as the problem seems issolated i suppose i will just trash the CDs and re-rip them. guess at least now i can rip them ACC ;)

    i would still be interested to learn if anyone else has had any problems of any kind with iTunes4
     
  4. andrewlandry macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2002
    Location:
    NYC
    #4
    i had the first hard crash in a long time while ripping a CD. also, i accidentally dragged the wrong album cover into iTunes and it won't let me change it. kind of weird. AAC sounds good though. :)
     
  5. uhlawboi80 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    houston
    #5
    that does remind me...im at a coffee shop and i tossed in a CD...well the coffee shop has wireless but the authenitcator wasnt working so i couldnt really get on the internet though airport recognized a signal. EVERY time the CD would go in it would try to get the track listings online and CRASH iTunes. When it couldnt get through it just crashed the program and i had to turn off airport to stop it from doing it repeatedly.
     
  6. kylos macrumors 6502a

    kylos

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Location:
    MI
    #6
    Maybe your hd is getting fragmented after 6 months.
     
  7. NavyIntel007 macrumors 65816

    NavyIntel007

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #7
    Anyone read the fine print when installing? It said something like to make an MP3 CD you must have an internal burner. I'm not sure if it affects AAC but I thought that was weird.
     
  8. uhlawboi80 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    houston
    #8
    well as for the no external burner thing...Apple had already done that with its DVD drives...cant burn to an external DVD drive. I think its probably intentional to force upgrades.

    as for my drive being fragmented..what the heck would that have to do with either of the problems i described!?! besides, Mac HDs dont fragment really badly the way PC HDs do so i doubt its very fragmented at all.
     
  9. technocoy macrumors 6502a

    technocoy

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2002
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    #9
    i'm getting a weird fluctuation too...

    on several songs..:mad:
     
  10. melchior macrumors 65816

    melchior

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2002
    #10
    i get tones like something out of space invaders on any song encoded with aac. i think i'm the only one. =(
     
  11. uhlawboi80 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    houston
    #11
    yeah, i have noticed a few fluctuations in songs that werent ripped by iTunes now. But in most songs it seems to be in a set place...not random fluctuations. hmmmmm, wonder whats causing this all of a sudden. Glad someone else can coroborate so that i dont look like a nut job!

    i havent encoded anything in AAC yet...now im almost afradi to!
     
  12. teabgs macrumors 68030

    teabgs

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Location:
    behind you
    #12
    I had a little flucuations as well....Luckily I have a backup on another drive just in case :D


    Im currently converting my mp3's to aac.....save s a good deal of space

    I wish it would seperate the aac and mp3 files....it's gonna be a pain trashing the mp3's....Anyone know an easy way to get the mp3's out of my library without going into each album's folder?



    How do you get cover art? I can't have to scan in the covers from my cd's that'd be ridiculous....there has to be a better way....please someone tell me...


    Also, I had some programs (Quicktime, Final Cut Pro) quitting on me when I ad mp3's converting to aac....
     
  13. RBMaraman macrumors 65816

    RBMaraman

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2002
    Location:
    Prospect, KY
    #13
    Well, so far I've encoded about 100 songs into iTunes as AAC, and I have to say....they sound AWESOME! I can really hear the difference between MP3 and AAC, and AAC kicks major boo-tay! I've decided to scrap all of my MP3's and re-encode all of my CD's as AAC.

    Apple, thanks for another great piece of software!
     
  14. andrewlandry macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2002
    Location:
    NYC
    #14
    for finding album cover art, i recommend the all music guide. the url is: http://www.allmusic.com/

    just search by artist and click on the album and you'll get a nice decent sized picture of the cover.
     
  15. mangoduck macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Location:
    lost at sea
    #15
    teabgs, plase say you're not converting from mp3 straight to aac. please say that you're re-ripping to aac from the original cd format. if not, you're shooting yourself in the foot in regards to sound quality...

    no problems for me in itunes 4 so far. haven't installed qt yet so i've not messed with aac.
     
  16. teabgs macrumors 68030

    teabgs

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Location:
    behind you
    #16
    I need the space and dont have time to re-rip until the semester is over.

    I have a few videos to edit and if I can save a few gigs by converting my mp3's to aac then its fine. I dont lose any quality, and I can always rip them again later properly.

    I just like that I can have the same quality and use less space until I have time to re-rip all my music....it's very time consuming...I have no time.
     
  17. applemacdude macrumors 68040

    applemacdude

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2001
    Location:
    Over The Rainbow
  18. stuckwithme247 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    #18
    well if you are like me you ripped mp3s at a bitrate higher than 128 for mp3s you can sort by bitrate separate your mp3s from aacs easily

    p.s. do you think that if you convert a 192kbps mp3 to aac it loses quality?
     
  19. szark macrumors 68030

    szark

    Joined:
    May 14, 2002
    Location:
    Arid-Zone-A
    #19
    Use the "Artwork" tab in the Get Info window. That will allow you to delete it.
     
  20. teabgs macrumors 68030

    teabgs

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Location:
    behind you
    #20
    Yeah..I thought about that....so I tested it out, and they sounded about the same...I figured it wouldnt sound good, but it really doesnt get it to lose quality...
     
  21. gotohamish macrumors 65816

    gotohamish

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2001
    Location:
    BKLN
    #21
    Not related to your post, but Britain only has one 't'...
     
  22. kylos macrumors 6502a

    kylos

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Location:
    MI
    #22
    As you reported it, you were having problems with skipping. That indicates a poor data stream. Since you weren't running many apps at all, it would seem that your problem isn't a small ram buffer. So it would make sense that your hd isn't in prime condition.

    And mac hd's fragment badly enough. Ever notice that on a clean install of the OS, the optimization step takes almost no time, but after a while that step alone can take 20 mins?

    EDIT: I just saw that it worked fine in ITunes 3. Ignore all that.:D :D :D
     
  23. uhlawboi80 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    houston
    #23
    ok...can i just trash iTunes 4 and reinstall it without it causing other problems? It is now messin with Kylie, and thats where i draw the line. If i have to spend another day of studying listening to iTunes4 butchering my mp3s im gonna be pissed
     
  24. ChicagoMac macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Location:
    Battle Creek, MI
    #24
    My imac is doing the same thing in itunes4. Volume fluctuations in all of my mp3s! That's why I got on here to look and see if anyone else had the same problem. Is this going to be like the last imovie upgrade!?!? What should I do?
     
  25. melchior macrumors 65816

    melchior

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2002
    #25
    if you try encoding just with quicktime you'll find the sound is a lot better.

    i'm putting this down as an iTunes bug. i pray it is fixed promptly.
     

Share This Page