Anyone here play MW2 or Black Ops on iMac through Boot Camp?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by e5volcano, Jan 2, 2011.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    #1
    How is the performance you get and what specs do you have?

    I am thinking about buying Black Ops or MW2 (leaning toward Black Ops since I already have MW2 on console) and I have a new iMac 27 inch
    3.2GHz Intel Core i3
    ATI Radeon HD 5670 with 512MB
    12GB RAM

    Thanks
     
  2. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    #2
    I have a Windows 7 bootcamp partition on my 27" iMac from last year.
    It is the 2.66 i5 quad core, with the raedeon 4850 :)

    I play it in 1920x1080 with "recommended" settings. Which i actually think is max in everything.

    It's a very good game IMO :)
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    trsnrtr

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Location:
    Central Illinois, USA
    #3
    Same here. I play both on my 24" iMac, 2,93 GHz Intel Duo Core with 4 GB of Ram. No Problems.
     
  4. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    #4
    You should be OK, my i7 seems good & I have posted many videos and tests on iMac for both games in the link below.
     
  5. macrumors 68020

    peskaa

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #5
    I play it on the 2009 Mac Pro in my signature, 27" ACD at native resolution (2560x1440) with it maxed out, nice and smooth. Your iMac will certainly play it, although you may have to settle for less AA and turn a few options down.
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    #6
    I run MW2 on my 2010 MBP i7 with the 330. It runs with mostly high settings, x2AA, and 1280 rez perfectly except when there's a full game on the largest maps during tons of explosions.

    It's a fun game, although I wish knifing wasn't so OP. I'd heard about the abundance of OMA Danger Close tubers, but I find it much more aggravating to put 4 bullets into someone at close range only to have them 1-shot me with a knife.
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Location:
    Anglesey, UK
    #7
    Runs okay on my Late 2010 13" MacBook Air under Windows 7, despite the settings being pretty low, but on a rig like the one you're looking at I'd imagine you'd have no trouble :)
     
  8. macrumors 68000

    Bacong

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Location:
    Westland, Michigan
    #8
    The graphics card is older with only 512 MB of video memory, so you're going to make some sacrifices. Not to mention blops is horrifically optimized. I play it on PC and enjoy it, but lots of people have issues.
     
  9. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #9
    I played MW2 for a while under Boot Camp, Windows 7. Had it on native res (1920x1200) and middling settings, ran decently on my 24" iMac with 512MB nVidia.
     
  10. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    #10
    hi just registered
    i have an early 2009 imac core 2duo 2.93 ghz 8gb ram NVIDIA GeForce GT 120 256 MB

    i want to buy black ops from mac app store ( finally available )
    https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/call-of-duty-black-ops/id530221719?mt=12

    is it going to play
    it says we do NOT recommend playing on these unsupported chips ... etc .. GT 100 series
     
  11. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    #11
    After seeing that Black Ops II was designed with LG passive 3D in mind I at least had to give that a shot. Created a 30GB bootcamp partition on my retina MBP, plugged in an HDMI cable and off I went at max settings. If a retina MBP can do it I suspect a newer iMac will be just fine.
     
  12. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    #12
    i don't have a newer iMac
    i have an early 2009 imac with nvidia gt 120 205mb only
     
  13. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    #13
    Black Ops was released on the Mac App store by Apsyr games, but depending on your iMacs internals, you may or may not have the ability to play. (Bootcamp would help). Modern Warfare 2 is definite bootcamp. I tried to play it on my Macbook pro...Lagged like crazy.
     
  14. macrumors regular

    walshy1009

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Location:
    Victoria, Australia
    #14
    I got the mid 2011 27 inch iMac with win 7 home premium and I got 16 GB's of ram with a AMD 1024 mb lowest range graphics card. Would that be alright running black ops2, mw3?
     
  15. macrumors 68020

    peskaa

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #15
    Yes it will be fine under Bootcamp.
     

Share This Page