Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jweaver

macrumors member
Original poster
Apr 15, 2011
Anyone in the UK using Atomic Browser and know where its gone?

I have been using Atomic for a few years and couldn't imagine my iPad without it.. Its got some issues which drive me nuts, but its got feature that I can't manage without.

I have been hoping that some of the issues would be fixed,and this week (via AppShopper) I was informed that there was a new version (V7).. It adds new features and fixes many bugs, so I eagerly went to download it.

Their web site hasn't been updated for months:

http://atomicwebbrowser.com/

But AppShopper shows a new version:

http://appshopper.com/productivity/atomic-web-browser

But its gone from the store.. The "Lite" version is listed (And is still v5.6).. But the full version isn't shown on the store..

I have tried to contact the developer, but know from experience that he only responds to emails when it suits him.. ANd this time it clearly doesn't, as he hasn't replied.

Anyone know how long its been missing? I don't know whether to wait and see if it appears, or count my losses and move on.........

The problem I have is that if I delete Atomic, I can't re-download it.. And more importantly, the update says that its compatible with iOS6, which implies the version I have won't work.. So if/when I upgrade to iOS6 I may nt be able to use Atomic any more.. I paid for it, and I want it.. Is that unreasonable?

Any ideas/thoughts?

Jon

jrs22

macrumors 6502
Aug 1, 2012
The full version disappeared from the US store also, but there are a few reviews complaining about problems with the 10/2/12 update so maybe it was withdrawn to be fixed. Version 6.0.1 works with iOS 6.