Anyone know how to remove iOS 7?

Discussion in 'iOS 7' started by Wicked1, Jul 7, 2013.

  1. macrumors 68040

    Wicked1

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #1
    I loaded Beta for 7 but trying to go back to 6.1.4 and it will not let me reload my IP5 with iOS6, keeps asking me to join the developer program which I have and I am logged into however I did not pay the $100.00 yet, but it does not recognize my device. Is there anyway to force the device to load iOS6 when I connect it to iTunes.?

    My phone is stuck on 7 but will not configure itself for use
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    #2
    Just press "restore" in iTunes and it does it automatically - I did it for a friend last week over TeamViewer :)
     
  3. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Location:
    California
    #3
    If it's not allowing you to restore, put it in DFU mode, and then restore. I've went back and forth a few times this way.
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    #4
    Yes - sorry, I forgot that step :p
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 68040

    Wicked1

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #5
    I tried to do that, but it tells me the device is not registered and takes me to the developer pages in iTunes. I can not force the restore there is no button, I get an activation Error on iTunes? it was running before I went to do an iCloud restore and this happened?
     
  6. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    #6
    Call Apple Developer helpline... :p
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 68040

    Wicked1

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #7
    ok thanks all it worked it was just a matter of the way I held down the buttons and pushed it into DFU mode.

    Appreciate the help all :)
     
  8. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    #8
    Welcome! :)
     
  9. macrumors 65816

    ionjohn

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Location:
    Canada
    #9
    Wow

    Are you serious? Why do you even install a beta? You didn't even know about DFU?
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 68040

    Wicked1

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #10
    No I know about DFU mode, I was not holding the buttons the right amount of time, so it kept bringing me back to the Not Registered Screen in iTunes. I think it is the Life Proof Case I have, seems the case prevents me from getting the Power/Sleep button all the way down.

    I do appreciate the help as I figured it out at the same time you all answered me, I was wondering if anyone else had this issue? I am going to keep the Beta to my 4S, and not my everyday 5 just in case this issue pops up again.

    :rolleyes:
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    bjb.butler

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Location:
    Southern California
    #11
    You have to download the iOS 6 firmware. Then in iTunes, hold down shift when you click restore, and then select the file you downloaded.
     
  12. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    #12
    No you don't, actually; iTunes does that for you.
     
  13. macrumors 6502a

    bjb.butler

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Location:
    Southern California
    #13
    Clearly it's not working for him.

    OP, follow the steps I posted and you'll be back on iOS 6 in no time.
     
  14. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    #14
    he's already back on 6, using the DFU method.
     
  15. thread starter macrumors 68040

    Wicked1

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #15
    We are good, just going to use my 4S for iOS7 from now on, can not afford to have my 5 I use Daily all messed up.

    Appreciate the assistance all, now that I have the phone out of the Life Proof case, DFU mode is easy since I can hold the Power/Sleep button easily :)
     

Share This Page