Anyone know of a LCD TV/ HD ReadyTV with usable resolution?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Winstonp, Feb 4, 2006.

  1. Winstonp macrumors 6502a

    Winstonp

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Location:
    Boston
    #1
    I have the 24'' dell. I need to watch tv and such...

    I am considering buying a 23'' samsung HD ready TV with :
    3000:1 contrast ratio
    1366X768 resolution:confused:

    However, ideally I'd like to get something with good resolution, and then sell my dell, but it's hard to replace my dell with low grade resolution.

    Any suggestions for a LCD/HD ready TV with HIGH resolution?

    Winston
     
  2. Spanky Deluxe macrumors 601

    Spanky Deluxe

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #2
    How about getting a TV Tuner instead? The Dell should be 'HD Ready' because it has DVI in and so you'd only need to get a DVI switch to switch between the Mac and HD in.
     
  3. Flyinace2000 macrumors 6502a

    Flyinace2000

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    #3

    Most TV's won't be HIGH resolution hbecause they are only displaying TV. You could get a HD LCD 1080p display. Those have 1920 x 1080 resolution.
     
  4. macbaseball macrumors 6502a

    macbaseball

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Location:
    Northern California
    #4
    Just get the EyeTV 500 and you will be fine. The Dell would be fine for HD.

    Edit: I just read you sig. I would ask Elgato if they are coming out with their universal binary within a few months, because that will be you best and most cost efficient option.
     
  5. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #5
    NOTE: DVI isn't enough. In the very near future you will need HDMI/HDCP to be able to get full HD resolution from HD-DVD or Blu Ray.

    1080p HDTVs are coming on the market.

    B
     
  6. Winstonp thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Winstonp

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Location:
    Boston
    #6
    the eyetv 500 does not play cable channels, you have to have digital cable, so it would be worthless


    does anyone have any suggestions for this 1080dpi lcd tv? I can't find anything in the 23-32 inch spectra
     
  7. macbaseball macrumors 6502a

    macbaseball

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Location:
    Northern California
    #7
    No you don't. You use get OTA or Clear QAM to get full quality free HD. I'm a bit confused how it's worthless...

    Edit: After read reading it, I'm not sure if you are saying it's useless because youcan't play SD channels with the 500. Assuming that what you mean, you are correct in that it can't play SD channels but if your TV has that many pixels, the picture will look really crappy blown up anyways. I know that 640x480 looks blurry on my LCD, and there are a lot more pixels if you are playing 1080i.
     
  8. mfacey macrumors 65816

    mfacey

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #8

    The only one I've seen in action is by Sharp.
    http://www.sharpusa.com/products/TypeLanding/0,1056,s67,00.html
    They have number of them that are HD in 1080 format. I think they start at 40" though. Furthermore, the only one I've seen in a store recenly was the 40 or 42 inch model which was selling for something like 7000 euros ($8400). So I'd wait a few months for the prices to drop!
     
  9. bigbossbmb macrumors 68000

    bigbossbmb

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Location:
    Pasadena/Hollywood
    #9
    Westinghouse makes a 37" 1080p LCD TV which you can grab at bestbuy for like $1700...I was completely impressed with the quality of that TV (especially considering the price). I thought it was going to be a piece of junk.
     
  10. aswitcher macrumors 603

    aswitcher

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Location:
    Canberra OZ
    #10

    Yes, but what resolution can you really get when you plug a computer in? I haven;t read anywhere that you can get the full resolution. Do you know otherwise?
     
  11. cube macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #11
    The new 30" Dell has DVI with HDCP.
     
  12. MinorBidoh macrumors 6502

    MinorBidoh

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Location:
    uk
    #12
    am i right in thinking that using an lcd tv as a second/mirrored display gives very poor visuals? just becasuse of pixels? little confused on the benifits of using a lcd monitor (like this dell one) or using a lcd tv (like the samsung eariler mentiond).
     
  13. Mr Paw macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Location:
    Cranbrook BC
    #13
    I had my mac mini connected to the HDMI port of my Panasonic 60" DLP and it automatically new the native resolution of the TV (720p) and set itself accordingly. The picture quality was VERY good. It looked like a large LCD monitor, but because the native resolution of 720x1280 is smaller than some would be used to using, the desktop is on the small side. I had the option to connect at 1080i but chose not to because the TV just scales it internally back to 720p. I would expect that the newer sets with 1080p native resolutions would look beautiful. The only thing I think that you need to check first is the overscan of the picture. You can toggle it off and on in the Mac but what happens is that you might lose 10 pixels on the edges and with the OSX menu bar at the top of the screen you might loose it.


    I found that it gives very good visuals. I believe that the only difference between a LCD monitor and an LCD tv is the HDCP detection. Usually the HDCP detection isn't in the monitor. The tv will have it for certain though. And of course the TV will have extras like speakers, a tv tuner, tonnes of input options greater range of sizes available, ability to increase self esteem directly proportional to screen size.
     

Share This Page