Anyone know what this is......

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by spencecb, Mar 25, 2006.

  1. spencecb macrumors 6502a

    spencecb

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2003
    #1
    I just opened up Activity Monitor on my MacBook Pro and there is a process running called "blued." It is running under root, taking up 80-83% CPU time, 1 thread and 96 MB RAM.

    Anyone know what the hell this is? I have Folding running on the two cores and nothing else is open.

    Is this a system maintenence program? That is the only thing I can think of....

    Any guesses/answers would be awesome!
     
  2. briangig macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    #2
    pretty sure thats the bluetooth daemon. you using bluetooth mouse or kb?
     
  3. ~Shard~ macrumors P6

    ~Shard~

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    1123.6536.5321
    #3
    I'm guessing blued is probably a Bluetooth Daemon process. I don't think it should be taking up that much CPU % though... As I don't have BT on my Mac, I'm afraid I can't be much more help. :cool:
     
  4. spencecb thread starter macrumors 6502a

    spencecb

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2003
    #4
    Yeah, that is exactly what it was. Bluetooth was acting funny yesterday when I used it. It was very unresponsive when clicking on the icon on the menu bar. I just force quit the process to get rid of it.

    EDIT: And now, Bluetooth isn't working at all....****! Any ideas what to do about that??
     
  5. spencecb thread starter macrumors 6502a

    spencecb

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2003
    #5
    Okay, nevermind. A simple restart fixed the problem! Crisis averted!
     
  6. ~Shard~ macrumors P6

    ~Shard~

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    1123.6536.5321
    #6
    Good to hear! Hopefully it won't act up on you again.
     
  7. SmurfBoxMasta macrumors 65816

    SmurfBoxMasta

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Location:
    I'm only really here at night.
    #7

    Inothawerdz........

    restart 1st = Anti-SPAZZO :)
     
  8. sam10685 macrumors 68000

    sam10685

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #8
    when in doubt, restart. (macs only) ;)
     
  9. ~Shard~ macrumors P6

    ~Shard~

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    1123.6536.5321
    #9
    Actually, no, this applies to Windows machines as well in some cases, but for different reasons. Sometimes Windows is just so stupid, that even though restarting shouldn't fix the problem, it does. ;) After all, it's the first suggestion made by 90% of Help Desk agents when people call in with problems on Windows machines... :D
     
  10. SmurfBoxMasta macrumors 65816

    SmurfBoxMasta

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Location:
    I'm only really here at night.
    #10
    huummmm.......just goes to show ya how "smart" they both are :D

    ie......Windblows & most of their "techies" haven't had a FRIGGIN clue since a clue had them !
     
  11. THX1139 macrumors 68000

    THX1139

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #11
    That's interesting. I would have thought the first question they would ask is whether their computer was plugged in or not. :D
     
  12. ~Shard~ macrumors P6

    ~Shard~

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    1123.6536.5321
    #12
    That's the first question. The first suggestion is to reboot. :p :cool:
     
  13. sam10685 macrumors 68000

    sam10685

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #13
    true, but my experience with both computers is this; restarting a mac will 99% of the time fix the problem... with a windows piece of junk, u will be very lucky if it fixes ur mishap.
     
  14. ~Shard~ macrumors P6

    ~Shard~

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    1123.6536.5321
    #14
    Quite true - there's always that element of "black magic" when it comes to Windows... ;) :D
     
  15. /dev/toaster macrumors 68020

    /dev/toaster

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #15
    I have had my MBP for about a month now, and I have been forced to reboot it 2 times and pull the battery once.

    First time was because World of Warcraft locked up. During login, if you lose your connection the game tends to hang. There isn't any timeout there, its very odd.

    Second time was the same thing, except it was a hard lock. I couldn't even use the power button, was very annonying.

    Third time was the other day. I was going to show someone photobooth, (Which I have running all day, due to that damn whine). It was minimized and wouldn't maximize. It just sat there using 80% of 1 core. (Odd it didn't use both cores, maybe its not multithreaded) Anyway, I tried to kill it and regardless of what I did, it wouldn't die. I even fired up the console in an attempt to kill it. During this time, the green light wasn't even on.

    I hate it when the OS is damn stable for me all day, then when I go to show the system to someone it craps out.
     
  16. SmurfBoxMasta macrumors 65816

    SmurfBoxMasta

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Location:
    I'm only really here at night.
    #16
    Aint life a biatch :D
     
  17. trogdor! macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    #17
    It amazing how many problems go away after a restart. It is the first rule of thumb in tech repair. haha.
     

Share This Page